Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.7/10 (350 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
77
137
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


350 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 40 ratings

Packaged in an awesome bottle hiding away the flavours and smells of Barbados' sunshine!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 48 ratings

When at a US bar with a limited rum selection this is certainly worth trying. However if more aged rums are available it's only mediocre.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Durbs from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

It's not the smoothest, but it has a great, complex flavour, can be drunk neat or goes well in most cocktails and generally under £30 a bottle, it's an excellent "filler" rum to have when you don't want to bring out the fancy stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Freedom of feet from Belgium with 20 ratings

Nice English style rum, dark, strong, strong notes of the bourbon casks they riped in. Not syruppy. Not to strong on the nose, nice little burn in the throat. Short aftertaste. Like it more with some ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

One of the basic rums. It is very easy to drink and good value for money.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by tallkeithatl from United States with 1 rating

Very over-priced for the quality (bland!) , I have had several tastier rums for less money. Doesn't hold a candle for Kraken 94, Cruzan Black Strap, Cap Morgan Private Stock, or Plantation 5-year. I wanted to like it too, because I'm gay LOL.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AntonioNunez from United States with 10 ratings

Coco and herbal notes are predominant in this rum that is can be a sipper at a very affordable price point. Great for bourbon drinkers.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Nice taste of Ron. Is very smooth not sharp. Nice smell. Ron is good to. Drink with anything. Thx

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Surprisingly good rum. Has stronger taste than other rums,(no so sweet). Smells and tastes of honey, oak, bourbon. Yes i like!
I recommend to taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A lot of raw alcohol in the nose and that translates to a strong afterburn. Nice initial taste but the burn keeps it from being a sipper. As a mixer that burn disappears the flavors come out in a wonderful way. Really enjoyed it with citrus so will keep it around though not the main go to.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 46 ratings

Edit: Did a Masterclass with Mount Gay ambassador, Mr Chester Browne, who was really fabulous and a great man. Had this one in the tasting but I think that there was a lot of flavours with my nose (cinnamon, pepper, vanilla) but in my mouth I was disappointed. It was good, don't get me wrong, but I felt betrayed by those promises made to my nose. So that's why I gave it a 6 and not a 7.

Almost a year later I decided to buy myself this bottle to give it another chance, and damn I'm so thankful that I did that. The promises made to my nose were respected. The problem at the masterclass was that this rum stayed in the glass for an hour, and that was maybe good for the xo and the 1703, but was a killer for this one. Spicy, almost funky, it still does have a special taste that leaves a smile on your face as his bigger brothers do, just wanting some more. Mount Gay does it right. Solid 8.