Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.8/10 (346 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
75
135
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 71 ratings

Even though I love the Bajan rum (love the Four Square Brand) this bottle isn't quite there for drinking as a sipper but is very nice as a mixer. Nothing great but definitely a good go to for Tiki drinks or something similar.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by tallkeithatl from United States with 1 rating

Very over-priced for the quality (bland!) , I have had several tastier rums for less money. Doesn't hold a candle for Kraken 94, Cruzan Black Strap, Cap Morgan Private Stock, or Plantation 5-year. I wanted to like it too, because I'm gay LOL.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AntonioNunez from United States with 10 ratings

Coco and herbal notes are predominant in this rum that is can be a sipper at a very affordable price point. Great for bourbon drinkers.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 119 ratings

Nice taste of Ron. Is very smooth not sharp. Nice smell. Ron is good to. Drink with anything. Thx

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Surprisingly good rum. Has stronger taste than other rums,(no so sweet). Smells and tastes of honey, oak, bourbon. Yes i like!
I recommend to taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A lot of raw alcohol in the nose and that translates to a strong afterburn. Nice initial taste but the burn keeps it from being a sipper. As a mixer that burn disappears the flavors come out in a wonderful way. Really enjoyed it with citrus so will keep it around though not the main go to.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 45 ratings

Edit: Did a Masterclass with Mount Gay ambassador, Mr Chester Browne, who was really fabulous and a great man. Had this one in the tasting but I think that there was a lot of flavours with my nose (cinnamon, pepper, vanilla) but in my mouth I was disappointed. It was good, don't get me wrong, but I felt betrayed by those promises made to my nose. So that's why I gave it a 6 and not a 7.

Almost a year later I decided to buy myself this bottle to give it another chance, and damn I'm so thankful that I did that. The promises made to my nose were respected. The problem at the masterclass was that this rum stayed in the glass for an hour, and that was maybe good for the xo and the 1703, but was a killer for this one. Spicy, almost funky, it still does have a special taste that leaves a smile on your face as his bigger brothers do, just wanting some more. Mount Gay does it right. Solid 8.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rlcm4 from Barbados with 5 ratings

This drink reminds me of Mount Gay Sugar Cane Brandy, while it does not have the finesse of a Mount Gay XO or the 1703 Old flask or Select, it is a good value proposition, good price for what it's worth. It goes well mixed with coconut water, or just drop a few coconut water ice blocks in it and sip away.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by lprgcfrank from United States with 20 ratings

Could be smoother. Needs another year or two of ageing. Best of the choices at this bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Some will not like neat but I like the flavor profile, which is dry, oaky, and slightly spicy. It has a sweetness and a caramel nose. If I was taking one bottle to drink or share this is one I would consider. It is good neat and makes a fine mixer so you don’t mind others mixing if you go neat. Oh and they ain’t mixing your best sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 193 ratings

Sugar 0-5 GPL. This rum has an edge to it that took me some time to identify. The normal oak and vanilla is present along with some spices and I couldn't quite decide if it was cinnamon or nutmeg. There is also a bit of smoke and burnt oak-bourbon barrel in this rum. The edge on this rum comes through in a mixed drink (Rum Punch) that reminds you that this sweet drink has rum in it. Great rum for mixing fruit based drinks.