Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.7/10 (350 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
77
137
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


350 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

Anyone who reads my blog will know that I'm not the greatest mount gay fan , however this is an exemption delicious as a rum and coke and lovely delicate notes ... Not strong in flavour but everything you want from a mixer rum with caramel and spices... The best rum and coke money can buy

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mr_s888 from Australia with 6 ratings

My first purchase based on reviews from this site. I was tossing up between this and Bundy Small Batch. Regretting my decision to choose this a little. It may grow on me but at the moment the original seems to be a better drop.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

Rum má nápadně lihové aroma i chuť, obojí připomíná spíš whiskey než rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by wolfpack21643 from United States with 16 ratings

Color: Medium
Nose: Oak hints of vanilla
Taste: Strong oak with nut and vanilla
Viscosity: Somewhat thin
Finish: Finishes fairly quick with a fair amount of burn
Overall Impression: Very good, you cannot go wrong with this rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Chollajames from United States with 1 rating

Being a "Spirits" drinker I do not claim expertise on any type of alcohol. I very much enjoy Mount Gay Black Barrel when I desire a rum cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

It's not quite the XO, so I'd recommend paying a little more if you're looking for a neat sipper in the style of aged scotch, etc. A little harsher on the palate, this would be an excellent bar choice for any recipe calling for an aged bajan rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Thomas Fuhs from United States with 24 ratings

Very whiskey like. Not very sweet, strong oak. It’ll do if I had to, but nothing special.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Nielf from Denmark with 148 ratings

Smagt til romhattens romfestival 2019. Den får en 3'er.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A clear step up from the Eclipse with a slight smokey taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ambros from Netherlands with 20 ratings

This is sort of ok but its not nearly as good as the XO which i like quite a bit. I would get XO over this any day.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ednolb from Belgium with 7 ratings

Vanilla, alcohol, molasses, woody finish lingers on in the back of my throat.