Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


324 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kyle Harmeling from United States with 14 ratings

Limited Single Barrel Private Barrel From The Party Source in Ky, Oak upon chard Oak upon charred oak. a decent sipping rum that can replace an ok bourbon but not a good scotch. wouldnt bother mixing this one

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

This rum has it all, the good 'old' pirate smell and taste.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Not that great for sipping to me. Excellent for mixology.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomas from Slovakia with 38 ratings

not exactly my taste as it is a bit stronger than I would expect.

Posted almost 4 years ago by James from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Forgot to take some rum on holiday with me so I picked this up in Duty Free and it was actually pretty reasonable, just smooth enough to drink on it own but actually this one I preferred with Diet Coke.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adam from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

This was ok but a little bland. Perhaps would be better taken straight

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

Ikke slem, men heller ikke et glas jeg sad og hyggede med.
Næste gang kommer der cola eller ginger beer i glasset også 🤗

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joeri Vermeulen from Belgium with 7 ratings

Not a big fan of this one. Quite strong, bit too harsh to my taste.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

Of rums I've tried this is the least rum tasting one. It's not my favourite and is at back of drink selections. Not sure what is going on with this one!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

A review mentioned bourbon and I completely agree that it reminds me a lot of bourbon. Wouldnt drink it straight up. Mixed 50/50 with cola and some lime or lemon is perfect with this rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

Jeg har lige været på cruise og der var vi blandt andet på Barbados og der var jeg på besøg på Mount Gay destilleriet.
Der var der mulighed for at smage på flere af deres forskellige rom og denne rom er deres basis rom som nok er bedst til miksede drinks.
Der er noter af egetræ, vanilje, karamel.
Den kan godt virke lidt skarp i det, men hvis den bruges i miksede drinks er den rigtig fin.

Posted about 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

If you have a sweet tooth or a delicate palate / weak stomach, you might find this a bit harsh. Whisky drinkers (like me, although I prefer rum) will like this. It's dry, it's oakey, it has some burn and it's relatively high on alchohol-content at 43%. It's the kind of rum that likes to flex its muscles. There is a caramel sweetness hidden in there, but you'll have to look for it. Pleasant though, when you eventually find it.

Posted about 4 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Rhum vieux (?) de la Barbade vieilli dans des fûts de Bourbon.
Design : bouteille simple mais élégante, le rhum a une belle couleur dorée.
Nez : Agréable, caramel, épices.
En bouche, l'attaque est très douce, dominante de caramel, boisé, puis alcool suivi d'une petite amertume.
Finale : rhum quasi évanescent, reste une note végétale.
On ne sent pas les 43° du rhum.
Ce rhum manque de rondeur et il est trop sucré.
Reste que ce rhum est agréable à boire et il vaut ses 60EC$.

Posted over 4 years ago by CBags from United States with 10 ratings

This would be a rum to show whiskey drinkers. Excellent for the price point, good for a sipper that you don't mind accidentally killing with a few friends on a sat night.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jameson Rodriguez from United States with 5 ratings

But certainly not a "special" occasions rum. Pretty tasty, albeit lacking complexity.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Another winner from Mount Gay. Not quite as good as their XO but doggoned close. Beautiful amber color. Enticing aroma hinting at the molasses. This rum was matured in heavily charred oak casks and the flavor definitely reflects it. The oak tones rapidly overtake the initial sweetness and vanilla as well as a pepperiness. Very smooth even though it's 43% ABV (86 proof) which is just a tad higher than typical rums. In my humble opinion this is best suited as a mixing rum rather than a sipper but if you like bourbon and some whiskies this might be a suitable sipping rum. I feel the oak tannins would make for an excellent counter to sweet fruits in drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Average sweetness and some harshness. Smokey taste, some ripe fruit/banana at the end, some liquorice.

Posted over 4 years ago by SuShY** from France with 9 ratings

Jolie bouteille, j'ai fait cet achat lors d'une visite dans une cave à Rhum parisienne. Les conseils précieux se révèlent payeurs, un goût sympa, pas très fort avec une petite dominante sur le bourbon liée au vieillissement dans ces anciens fûts à la Barbade.

Posted over 4 years ago by Robert lyman from United States with 5 ratings

The color of the rum is dark almost has a whiskey flavor but worth trying.

Posted over 4 years ago by Commodore from United States with 4 ratings

Nice to have in the cabinet... still for mixed drinks

Posted over 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Nothing special, very dry and leathery. But I guess for what it costs, it is still pretty smooth. I guess I wouldn't kick it out of bed

Posted over 4 years ago by AC from United States with 26 ratings

Oak taste is very good. Not too crazy about it as a sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

LOTS of oak and spice, some alcohol afterburn. It's good, but there isn't enough going on here when you drink it neat. An ice cube brings out some sweetness and makes it smoother. Still, there are better sippers and mixers out there, from Barbados and elsewhere.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

this rum is a good one. 8 out of 10. it isnt as much flavour in this rum than in the mount gay xo, but take a look at the price. thats great and the best neat starting rum of mount gay, i think.