Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.7/10 (350 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
77
137
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


350 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 54 ratings

I first tried this rum 4 years ago and found it a solid 9. Last year and the year before, I found the taste had changed in that it was a more harsh drink.....so for "on the ice" rather than straight.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Patricebru (PREMIUM) from France with 38 ratings

not too sweet but with vanilla taste , an interesting rum

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Simple. No additives, but it is a light, simple rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 367 ratings

Honigfarbenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase Karamell und Vanille mit schönen Holz Nuancen, Früchte und Beeren schmücken das Ganze.
Im Gaumen fruchtig leicht, getoastetes Holz mit Karamell, frisch gepflückte tropische Früchte.
Im Abgang dezent, etwas Holz, Früchte und Karamell.
Ein schöner ungesüsster Rum für Einsteiger und Fortgeschrittene mit gutem Preis / Leistung Verhältnis.

Honey coloured amber in the glass.
In the nose caramel and vanilla with beautiful wood nuances, fruits and berries decorate the whole.
On the palate fruity light, toasted wood with caramel, freshly picked tropical fruits.
In the finish discreet, some wood, fruits and caramel.
A nice unsweetened rum for beginners and advanced with a good quality/price ratio.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 40 ratings

Packaged in an awesome bottle hiding away the flavours and smells of Barbados' sunshine!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Soft aroma of molasses with hints of sweetness and vanilla. Pepper. Alcohol. Warm on the palate, soft sweet character with soft fruitiness and hints of vanilla and oak. I don't get the big char barrel character that some get. The finish is dry and long with lingering bitterness. Not super complex. Good flavor. I'd use it as a mixer. Great pure rum flavor without too much barrel character to get in the way. Not a great sipper in my book but on the rocks in a pinch wouldn't be a bad thing. A great rum for what it is. Good value for a good quality rum. $26 for a 750ml in Ohio.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by PhM from Belgium with 14 ratings

Just discovered this one tonight and was surprised about the great taste. Need to buy myself this one to enjoy it more.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

This rum is great as a mixer. I use it with mexican coke when I don’t want to spend money on alcohol. Its definitely a step up from mount gay eclipse

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This one has a little edgy alcoholic taste to drink straight, but a little pricey to mix. still a good rum if you can get it a good price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Roubrt from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

The alcohol smell and taste was just a little more than I apreciate. But in general it is good room and I'll get back to it