Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


324 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 43% which is always a good thing for rum. Candy cola on the nose and palette. It opens up to a bit of lemon grass and smoke. The body is on the thin side which helps keep things bright. Finish is lingering and somewhat sweet but not a sugar bomb by any means.
Can’t go wrong with the Black Barrel in your tiki drinks either. I prefer this over the Black Seal or Plantation rums for mixing.
So it’s a sipper and a mixer at a great price!! That makes this a bit of a genius offering from one of the great rum brands out there. Solid

Posted over 3 years ago by robert from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

not great but drinkable not spiced. not bad but not great

Posted over 3 years ago by Lee from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Favourite amoungst Solent yachties but if they haven't got that, then Mount Gay comes close

Posted over 3 years ago by Myles from Denmark with 10 ratings

Definitely recommend drinking straight, a nice rum with a strong oaky taste similar to a decent bourbon.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Another one that improved with later tastings. A bit too strong for me on the rocks, but worked out better mixed. A pronounced molasses flavor for me that improved my outlook on it. Should be a 5.5, but the system only allows full bottles....

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

Anyone who reads my blog will know that I'm not the greatest mount gay fan , however this is an exemption delicious as a rum and coke and lovely delicate notes ... Not strong in flavour but everything you want from a mixer rum with caramel and spices... The best rum and coke money can buy

Posted over 3 years ago by Stroia from United States with 5 ratings

Has a lot of characteristics of a good bourbon. Oak, strong oak! Very nice to sip... not for the inexperienced rum drinker.

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Can't really call this a true dark rum but it has notes of a good dark rum flavor.

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Much oakier than Eclipse and nice vanilla flavor. It's got too much burn for my liking compared to the Doorly's line up, but makes a good mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew Reeves from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

It's a good rum, but not a memorable one. Could be confused with others if you didn't see it being poured.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

I found this at the liquor store in Florida while on vacation and decided to give it a shot. I was not blown away but I was not disappointed either. It is smooth with hints of butterscotch and toffee with a light citrus essence. It also has a nice oak flavor from the aging process. I would definitely buy this again and recommend it as a sipper.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tim Sheehan from United States with 14 ratings

This rum is right at the top of my favorites. Smoth and lite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from United States with 54 ratings

Strong bourbon-like flavor. Good for sipping or in cola.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

This rum is decent, although it didn't seem to have much sweetness, and reminded me more of a bourbon than a rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kim from Australia with 53 ratings

On opening there was a nice nose with a little astringency in the background. Sampling I found the barrel burn smokiness initially a little strong starting to overpower the other rum flavours. At the back end the bourbon flavours from the barrel came through surprising strongly and lasted quite a while. If you dont like bourbon perhaps take this off your list. Rum was perhaps a little underdeveloped (I dont see an age statement) but this is a nice drop and Ill keep a bottle handy for some variety in the cabinet

Posted over 3 years ago by Christopher from Canada with 18 ratings

Very heavy and a bit harsh at times. However, it does have some wonderful flavors and a nice warm aftertaste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Pas de sucre, du fût de bourbon, une petite exploitation... On est sur quelque chose de bon, franc, boisé. J'aime !

Posted over 3 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

For me a rum should be at least a bit sweet. That's not the case at all with this one. For a price more than Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva or Presidente Marti 15 this was really a bummer. Maybe bourbon or ordinary whisky drinkers will like this.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pavelitti from Switzerland with 42 ratings

È secco, forte, non particolarmente morbido ma buono e non annoia come il legnoso XO.

Posted over 3 years ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 15 ratings

Woody, sweet rum. I drunk a few last night and really enjoyed it!

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrejko from Slovakia with 24 ratings

This is the latest one in my collection yet. It's very tasteful although the taste is strong. For someone who like Pyrat and Don Papa (very flavoured rums) just like me this is something completely different. But I'm getting used to the taste quickly.

Posted over 3 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I review this about a year after finishing it on holiday. If the XO is available then spend the extra money! This isn't really close and is only verging on being an acceptable sipper. It's by no means bad, but its is very much a reserve rum that will keep you going if nothing better is available.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Black barrel element is surely strong and because of it this really reminds me of a moderate whisky. Someone might like it, but next time I will be in the mood for whisky, I will buy whisky.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael Norell from United States with 5 ratings

This is a medium-dark rum with very nice taste qualities, perhaps a little frustrating as it's not the best for sipping, though it avoids the heavy molasses qualities of many dark rums. I use it as top-off or for creating some mixed rums, and I find it combines well with some light rums like Cruzan Light (I will use it this way in a dry mojito), and to bring up the overall flavor particularly last-minute when you've run out of better rums. It's still a little expensive but I like it much more than the slightly less expensive Mount Gay offerings. Overall I think it's a worthwhile general rum to keep on your bar-shelf even if you don't use it as an everyday rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by eric from United States with 9 ratings

okay, but nothing special. After first or second drink, I left it on the shelf for mixing.