Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.8/10 (346 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
75
135
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 71 ratings

Even though I love the Bajan rum (love the Four Square Brand) this bottle isn't quite there for drinking as a sipper but is very nice as a mixer. Nothing great but definitely a good go to for Tiki drinks or something similar.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 40 ratings

Packaged in an awesome bottle hiding away the flavours and smells of Barbados' sunshine!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Soft aroma of molasses with hints of sweetness and vanilla. Pepper. Alcohol. Warm on the palate, soft sweet character with soft fruitiness and hints of vanilla and oak. I don't get the big char barrel character that some get. The finish is dry and long with lingering bitterness. Not super complex. Good flavor. I'd use it as a mixer. Great pure rum flavor without too much barrel character to get in the way. Not a great sipper in my book but on the rocks in a pinch wouldn't be a bad thing. A great rum for what it is. Good value for a good quality rum. $26 for a 750ml in Ohio.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by PhM from Belgium with 13 ratings

Just discovered this one tonight and was surprised about the great taste. Need to buy myself this one to enjoy it more.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

This rum is great as a mixer. I use it with mexican coke when I don’t want to spend money on alcohol. Its definitely a step up from mount gay eclipse

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This one has a little edgy alcoholic taste to drink straight, but a little pricey to mix. still a good rum if you can get it a good price

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Roubrt from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

The alcohol smell and taste was just a little more than I apreciate. But in general it is good room and I'll get back to it

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Mr_s888 from Australia with 6 ratings

My first purchase based on reviews from this site. I was tossing up between this and Bundy Small Batch. Regretting my decision to choose this a little. It may grow on me but at the moment the original seems to be a better drop.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 56 ratings

Rum má nápadně lihové aroma i chuť, obojí připomíná spíš whiskey než rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by wolfpack21643 from United States with 16 ratings

Color: Medium
Nose: Oak hints of vanilla
Taste: Strong oak with nut and vanilla
Viscosity: Somewhat thin
Finish: Finishes fairly quick with a fair amount of burn
Overall Impression: Very good, you cannot go wrong with this rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Chollajames from United States with 1 rating

Being a "Spirits" drinker I do not claim expertise on any type of alcohol. I very much enjoy Mount Gay Black Barrel when I desire a rum cocktail.