Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


324 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 43% which is always a good thing for rum. Candy cola on the nose and palette. It opens up to a bit of lemon grass and smoke. The body is on the thin side which helps keep things bright. Finish is lingering and somewhat sweet but not a sugar bomb by any means.
Can’t go wrong with the Black Barrel in your tiki drinks either. I prefer this over the Black Seal or Plantation rums for mixing.
So it’s a sipper and a mixer at a great price!! That makes this a bit of a genius offering from one of the great rum brands out there. Solid

Posted almost 3 years ago by Drew B Carter from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Lovely rum that sits on the fence of golden & aged, yet with the choice method of charring the Bourbon barrels to finish the ageing it has given the rum a heavier and more toned down mouth-feel reminiscent of darker or navy strength rum. however with only half the maturation time being spent in the charred barrels the rum still stays quite true to the brighter and fruitful qualities of a golden/aged rum.
The Nose gives a instant honey which brings in the heavy rich aroma of pot-still and molasses, which finally is topped off with a hint of oak and banana.
The Palate is shown much simpler, with sipping straight showing a large oaky presence giving it the heavy toned down mouth-feel which lasts, but at the same time displaying a range of ripe fruits, a mild underlay of spice and finishing with a smokey citrus orange.
Great in an Old Fashioned which brigs out those woody, citrus orange notes.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

the simple fact about this rum is i get no taste no burn and no smell. i dob't even think that one could use this rum as a mixer simply because i could not pick up anything at all, i was pretty disapointed.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Didn't really taste like a good rum at all. Quite strong, slightly whisky-esque flavour. Couldn't enjoy it straight, and even when mixed the poor flavour still overpowers.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 131 ratings

Well balanced flavour with long aftertaste. Very lillle nose but a caramel,vanilla and smoke wood taste. Easily sipped and makes an excellent rum and coke.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

Let me just say that if this was a type of food I would be chewing it all day long so

Posted about 3 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

typický rum, výrazný surový, ale nikterak hrubý. chuť dokonale rumová, vyvážená. příjemně hřál. ale na mne málo ovocný, málo hravý. ale pitelný

Posted about 3 years ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Η σύγκριση είναι αναπόφευκτη .... γι αυτό βαθμολογούμε άλλωστε..... Ένα Not Sweet rum με έντονη τη γεύση και το άρωμα του βαρελιού ..... Από τα Not Sweet rum που έχω βαθμολογήσει με 7 θα έλεγα ότι είναι "μισή κλάση κάτω" ..... Παρόλα αυτά δε θα μπορούσα να δώσω 6αρι σε ένα ρούμι που πρώτα απ όλα σέβεται τον εαυτό του , έχει έντονη γεύση κ επίγευση και είναι σε σχετικά καλή τιμή ......

Posted about 3 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Hodně výrazná dřevitá chuť po sudu, ve kterém zral.

Posted about 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 14 ratings

This is one of my favorites to use in making Dark and Stormies. We always kept a bottle on the boat.

Posted about 3 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

Wooden taste, very dry. May be good for those, who like whisky.

Posted about 3 years ago by Julien from Netherlands with 19 ratings

No real special taste. I was hoping for even a bit more smokey and oak. Instead there isa long peppery aftertaste. But nothing particular interesting

Posted about 3 years ago by Allan Hansen from Denmark with 8 ratings

Lidt for sprittet til min smag, dog en rom man sagtens kan have i samlingen.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michel from Belgium with 79 ratings

Un nez sur le caramel qui annonce une certaine douceur. Étonnement, on ne retrouve pas cette douceuren bouche. ce rhum est assez complet et savoureux. Assez sec. A découvrir!

Posted about 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

I'm guessing the only reason i've not bought this before is all the "tastes like Bourbon" comments on this rum. not being a Bourbon fan i was skeptical about my purchase.. well i was very pleasantly surprised. Lovely aroma of vanilla , oak , spices and either honey or fruit. Only slightly astringent and that disappeared in moments. Nice to sip , thankfully not much of the Bourbon taste present to spoil my enjoyment !
Mixes very well with a Fever Tree cola also.. Comes with a nice cork and not a cheap screw cap..
Another high quality Barbados rum , only just behind the XO in my opinion... don.t let the "Bourbon" comments put you off !!

Posted about 3 years ago by EFS from United States with 5 ratings

Very good tasting. Smooth with a hint of bourbon. Purchased from Wine Country at $19.50. Very good buy.

Posted about 3 years ago by Christos from Greece with 8 ratings

This rum is close to whiskey. Not the complexity of other rums. Basic taste, not sweet, strong afterburn. Better on ice.

Posted about 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

this rum is decent, I preferred it in a high end rum n cokeneat, not so much.

Posted about 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

Even though I love the Bajan rum (love the Four Square Brand) this bottle isn't quite there for drinking as a sipper but is very nice as a mixer. Nothing great but definitely a good go to for Tiki drinks or something similar.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jay from Switzerland with 8 ratings

Dieser ist definitiv kein Top Rum und wenn ein Top Rum eine 9-10Punkte bekommt, kriegt dieser von mir 3-4Punkte.

Posted about 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Strong alcohol finish. Slight whiskey feel. 43%. A drop of water opened it up more.

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

A good entry point to English rum sippers for the American drinker. Bourbon casks import a lot of vanilla and toffee notes but also a little throaty bite that people like us rum drinkers aren't super in to. Good rum for old fashioned type recipes like bombos and corn & oils.

Posted about 3 years ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

The bourbon barrel finishing really ruins it for me. I hate bourbon and that the bourbon flavour is just over powering the fine flavour Mount Fay usually has. Will definitely be sticking to XO

Posted over 3 years ago by Drew Dyer from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Whether in an old fashioned or with coke, I enjoy this one

Posted over 3 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

I was a little surprised by this one. It's priced quite a bit cheaper than the XO, yet there were things about it I enjoyed more. It does have a lighter taste than the XO, but the finish is much smoother. It seems to be a good introduction for those new to rum. However, I don't recommend it as a mixer. The flavor is just too light. I'd probably buy this again over the XO as I don't think the XO is worth the extra price.