Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.8/10 (346 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
75
135
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 58 ratings

Strong bourbon-like flavor. Good for sipping or in cola.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Petr Melichar from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Máš rád suchý rum? Potom Ti sedne. Kvalitní a za dobrou cenu, uznávám, ale dám přednost sladší variantě

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Aylesby from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Moving to rum from brandy and malt having exhausted the availability in my price range. This is my first rum at £21 of Amazon and it delights me as neat or iced.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by 69nl43 from France with 14 ratings

Agréable. Juste comme il faut. Facile a déguster. Un rhum classique. Bon rapport qualité prix pour 30€

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Zane from Norway with 49 ratings

This is a discovery thanks to a trip to South Korea. Have tried some other mount gays - not a fan. This one is on the shelf of Bacardi ocho, and single canes too. So I guess I am ok with the bit harsher rums. Would give 7.5. It has some bitterness, and bites my nose a bit too.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Pawel from Poland with 5 ratings

After pouring I could smell mostly bananas with some oak and pineapple hints. It's a good rum but unfortunately after first sip feels too harsh and lasts long. Slightly sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Rob from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

It doesn't have the smoothness or flavour profile of many more expensive rums but then again it's not as expensive! And for what it costs, I think it's a great rum... I personally find it slightly too harsh to drink without ice but once a couple of ice cubes have started to melt it goes down a treat.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 53 ratings

I first tried this rum 4 years ago and found it a solid 9. Last year and the year before, I found the taste had changed in that it was a more harsh drink.....so for "on the ice" rather than straight.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Patricebru (PREMIUM) from France with 38 ratings

not too sweet but with vanilla taste , an interesting rum

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Simple. No additives, but it is a light, simple rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 359 ratings

Honigfarbenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase Karamell und Vanille mit schönen Holz Nuancen, Früchte und Beeren schmücken das Ganze.
Im Gaumen fruchtig leicht, getoastetes Holz mit Karamell, frisch gepflückte tropische Früchte.
Im Abgang dezent, etwas Holz, Früchte und Karamell.
Ein schöner ungesüsster Rum für Einsteiger und Fortgeschrittene mit gutem Preis / Leistung Verhältnis.

Honey coloured amber in the glass.
In the nose caramel and vanilla with beautiful wood nuances, fruits and berries decorate the whole.
On the palate fruity light, toasted wood with caramel, freshly picked tropical fruits.
In the finish discreet, some wood, fruits and caramel.
A nice unsweetened rum for beginners and advanced with a good quality/price ratio.