Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.6/10
21 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
6
7
3
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

21 Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 8 months ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 184 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a “9” rating.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I thought this was the 12 year rare blend repackaged but this is something new. Nice fruit forward banana notes, with mild spiciness. Lots of depth with just the right amount of Hogo. Blindfold me and I know it Jamaica and Appleton. I give this a notch up from the 12 year rare blend. Great rum in the $40 range not too sweet like ElDorado US concoctions.

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by chrisonmyface from United States with 4 ratings

This was the first rum I spent more than 20 bucks on and I didn’t know what to expect really. It’s smooth, not over powering, and has a nice subtle banana taste. You can smell the banana when you open it but it’s subtle as far as the actual taste goes. Worth the money. It’s not the best I’ve ever had but I’d probly look at someone funny if they had any real problem with its level of quality. If you want a solid rum to try that’s not going to put you in the poor house, it’s a good one.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by keithfoster00 from Canada with 6 ratings

I’m loving the new tastes of this 12 year now that the new master distiller is in charge.

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by Yohobro from Canada with 20 ratings

($36CAD) This is one of the new bottles of the 12 year and I have to comment on the bottle itself. I’ve never been so pumped about a rum before actually tasting it. Everything about the presentation is pleasing to me. The bottle has a sleek yet funky design. The black label fits nicely with the darker color of rum. The cork has both wood and gold color in it, it’s all very easy on the eyes. Very well done, presentation-wise.
To the rum! 43% abv and a full 750mL bottle.
Nice and dark. Smells like bananas a bit, maybe some tropical fruits; pineapple?
The taste is nice, a bit of sweetness up front with fruit and then oak and tobacco or leather. Then it settles into the heat.
This is a damn near perfect rum. It looks amazing, the taste is fantastically complex yet smooth. The real kicker for me is the price: what value! If I had known I would love it this much, I would’ve bought more while it was on sale. This has become a staple for me and very well could be my favourite at the moment. Well done Appleton Estate!

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by GauchoSVK from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

I am not a rum expert, either it tastes or not. This one was beautiful

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 64 ratings

Avast! There be nothin' rare about a funked-up Jamaican rum. She smells a bit sweet, and a lot funky, with hints of fruits, vanilla, and oak... but once you taste her tho, you don't funkin' smell anythin' but the vanilla and oak. Witchcraft! As for taste, spices come aboard first - aggressively - followed by a wee bit of vanilla and banana, and then molasses - HARD - followed by a hint of tobacco when that fades. Might this be a sippin' rum? Aye, if a funked up rum be to your fancy, by all means, take no prisoners. If you're not into funkin' around, there be better, less funked-up, rums to be had... arrrgh

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Teemuh from Finland with 24 ratings

Similar to the old appleton 12. Funky with aged oak taste to it. It's a shame I don't have the old bottle anymore to compare to.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Sadck from France with 3 ratings

Dans la série des rhum expectionnels a prix raisonnables j'ai découvert cet Appleton rare cask par surprise. Et quelle surprise! un rum aussi équilibré que puissant. Avec un nez caramélisé mais un goût sec et authentique d'un rum bien vieilli.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Rowdy1 from United States with 11 ratings

A nice departure from other island rums. The funk hits you up front, nice and smooth banana foster taste throughout.