Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

7.4/10
15 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
5
2

Rate Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

15 Appleton Estate Rare Casks 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 6 months ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 183 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a “9” rating.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

I thought this was the 12 year rare blend repackaged but this is something new. Nice fruit forward banana notes, with mild spiciness. Lots of depth with just the right amount of Hogo. Blindfold me and I know it Jamaica and Appleton. I give this a notch up from the 12 year rare blend. Great rum in the $40 range not too sweet like ElDorado US concoctions.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by keithfoster00 from Canada with 5 ratings

I’m loving the new tastes of this 12 year now that the new master distiller is in charge.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Mujuru from United States with 73 ratings

'What do Jamaicans know about aged and blended rums?' (I thought to myself jokingly)....A whole freaking lot it turns out. Wow! This is very nice. Appleton 12 year Rare Casks is everything I had wanted MGXO to be. The thing that is so remarkable about this rum is just how damn sippable it is. I can't quite bring myself to give it a 9, but it is easily a high 8 at minimum. The aftertaste is simply delightful. So lets dive in...

The nose is overripe bananas, apples, caramel, a pungent floral bouquet, and sour apple hard
candies. Its got a nice pungency to it like sticking your nose in a flower bouquet. Once you take a sip you get immediate oak that quickly dissipates into caramelized apples and light but present fermentation packaged in a chocolatey smoothness akin to french liqueur chocolates. Think that is interesting? Well it gets better. The velvety chocolate rum taste fades into a chest warmth with grilled pineapple and nutmeg that lingers for a long time and entices you to start the cycle all over again. At every part there is a very pleasant funkiness lingering in the background, kind of like fruit in a pitcher of sangria. I will definitely be keeping this one around. This is very nice for a change of pace.

*Update* I am bumping this up. On the second go around after every sip I kept muttering "damn!" to myself out of sheer relaxed enjoyment. This rum has a marvelous aftertaste and a great smoothness to it despite no added sugar and only being aged for 12 years.

Nose: 8
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 9
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 9
Price: 9

Total: 8.8

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Bigbillyt from United States with 8 ratings

As others have said, this is not the same as the previous expression labeled 12 year from Appleton's, this is a new iteration and really one of the best sipping rums out there. My other favorite sipper being Doorly's XO, just so you know where I am coming from. This rum has great complexity and doesn't overwhelm with any of the notes, but offers a really nice balance.
The nose is great, and if you love Jamaican rum, as I do, you can spend a bit of extra time here enjoying the nice combination of warm Jamaican funk, oak, molasses, orange and spice. The taste is perfect for sipping, with a good hit of alcohol up front, strong but not confrontational, then nice sweet notes of toffee and caramel with vanilla, orange, light banana and stone fruit, followed by the distinct hogo that I lovo. the finish is long with a mild touch of charred oak and raisins.

This is a really great rum and the price point around $45 US right now is decent too for such quality I would give this a solid 8.5, leaving a littel room to run since, frankly, I haven't tasted much at higher price points yet, in my rum tasting journey. Enjoy neat, or with an ice cube or two to open it up or in a nice rum Old Fashioned, with a twist of orange and a Luxardo cherry.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Second Appleton in a row that I have enjoyed. Initially the afterburn was a bit strong, but the more I drank it, the smoother and deep richness I experienced. Hard to describe. Somewhat oaky, but best word is still rich. 6.5 on my scale.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

Avast! There be nothin' rare about a funked-up Jamaican rum. She smells a bit sweet, and a lot funky, with hints of fruits, vanilla, and oak... but once you taste her tho, you don't funkin' smell anythin' but the vanilla and oak. Witchcraft! As for taste, spices come aboard first - aggressively - followed by a wee bit of vanilla and banana, and then molasses - HARD - followed by a hint of tobacco when that fades. Might this be a sippin' rum? Aye, if a funked up rum be to your fancy, by all means, take no prisoners. If you're not into funkin' around, there be better, less funked-up, rums to be had... arrrgh

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by MichaelNM from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

The usual Appleton Estate shaped bottle holding a dark golden coloured rum. Smells of banana and pineapple finished with vanilla. Taste the fire in the mouth and as it slides down the throat.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Don from Canada with 152 ratings

A light colour compared to the 8 or 12 year with some burnt caramel smell. The taste is the same with that Appleton Jamacian funk, that is not really my thing. A spicey finish, with some burn. Not my idea of a sipping rum, best in a mixed drink.

Small a436f60d 2c6f 4b2e a4be d77e02e74014

Posted 2 months ago by Comeau68 from Canada with 7 ratings

This definitely has the funk that is a part of the Appleton line. I enjoyed it as a supper and as a mixer for the “tropical” style of drinks. Good fun and tasty.