Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney Reserva 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney Reserva 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.5/10
8 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
3

Rate Kirk and Sweeney Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Kirk and Sweeney Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Bought a bottle on vacation in the Florida Keys. It was decent, but I doubt I would buy it again. Too much bite. A good taste, maybe a little vanilla. Actually used half of it with Coke.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by smokumjames from United States with 3 ratings

Mix it with something. Aged for 12 years and it taste raw with hints of additives. Sorry not for me.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by ThayneC from United States with 5 ratings

Enjoying sipping this straight up. I think it is pretty smooth and well worth the cost-just over $30. Kind of like the bottle too.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

12 Reserva - just opened this to compare with the last of my 12yo. It is totally different and a real step backwards. Gone is the unctuous rich caramely nose, to be replaced by one which is more astringent with hints of what reminds me of oranges. It is similar on the body. Very disappointing and a rum that I'll likely not be buying again. Disappointing. I'm wondering whether it has been spiced - it's on the shelves next to the other one that seems to be popular (and which I find equally nasty) Don Papa. I tried it again last night and thought it was actually quite nasty and what I was going to do with it!

I also have to wonder whether it is still a 12 year old. 12 Reserva might well imply it is, but I wouldn't be surprised if there were much younger rums in the blend.

My problem is, what do I do with it? I find it truly nasty but I don't like throwing things away. However, my rum cupboard is quite full, and for the first time ever, I'm half tempted to pour it down the sink (though I won't end up doing that, more than likely I'll try and give it away).

Small fb img 1613266884859

Posted 7 days ago by Joshuanewill from United States with 8 ratings

I get the one without looking it up and I have to say I'm glad I did.

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by Ruester from United States with 1 rating

For the price, I was expecting a sipping rum. This is not. The taste of alcohol was so overwhelming I couldn't taste anything else - it was abrasive like a shot of 151. When mixed, any additional flavors or notes were lost in cola and in lime juice. There are better options.at.half the price. No intention of buying again.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mazoff (PREMIUM) from United States with 6 ratings

I really like this rum. I don’t understand what the negative reviews are all about.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Alphamale76 from United States with 14 ratings

Tastes amazing! On the rocks, smooth and flavorful.