Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


152 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Mic0411 from Denmark with 26 ratings

En fin og elegant rom i duft og smag. Ikke den store volumen. Minder en del om 1931 82nd Anniversary Rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Comes in one of the most beautiful bottles in the world of rum. Absolute stunning shape, and gorgeous wooden cork top. Can’t get enough of looking at the amber color through this bottle.
Lifting the cork reveals smooth vanilla, toffee and dark chocolate.
In the glass - Lovely color and and beautiful legs.
Nose - Powerful… Molasses, toffee, dark chocolate.
Taste - Charred oak, vanilla, toffee, leather, dark chocolate finish.

Absolutely gorgeous rum. Easy on the eyes, powerful in the mouth. Just a nice complete package.
I would recommend adding, just a little water, witch removes the initial harshness of the spirit. This brings out the clean flavors of the aged rum even more. One of my first aged rums. One of my fist re-buys, and one that I, with out a doubt, will buy again.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 5 GPL.
A well balanced rum except for the strong alcohol smell and taste. Great colour and bottle. Well balanced and smooth tastes of vanilla, oak, maple syrup, and burnt caramel or raisins, and there is that smokey biting taste from the bourbon casks it's aged in. To a certain degree this smells and tastes a bit like an over proof or strong Navy style rum. At $109 per bottle in Ontario it's over priced.
I like it, but it needs some moderation with ice or a drop of water to be a sipping rum, unless you like the strong burn it has.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adrian Pybus from Sweden with 10 ratings

This is a really good rum. Probably the best I've had so far. I really like it. Lots of taste and not too sweet.

Posted about 4 years ago by Igor from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Beautiful caramel color with hints of vanilla, roasted nuts and toasted bread
Smooth soft medium long finish

Posted over 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: St. Lucia
Abv: 40%
Kleur: amber
Fles: 70cl, grappige ½ bol op ½ kubus vorm, met grote houten dop/kurk. Komt in een sjieke doos.

Deze rum heeft 12 jaar in Bourbon vaten gerijpt. Het resultaat is een zachte rum die smaakt als een echte rum wat mij betreft. Veel Karamel, ietwat zoete vanille, eik en een kruidige droge nasmaak.

Al met al een prima rum naar ietwat eentonig.

Edit:
0 gr/liter suiker

Posted about 5 years ago by Temple from United States with 1 rating

My wife brought it back from St lucia and i love the it problem is that I can't find it in the states.......

Posted over 5 years ago by David from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Admiral Rodney Extra Old is een prachtige Premium Blended Rum van
fijne, lang in eikenhouten vaten gerijpte St. Lucia Rums.

Kleur: Barnsteen
Geur: complex met hints van honing
Smaak: mooi gebalanceerd met geroosterde tonen van vanille en caramel
Afdronk: aardig lang en aangenaam zoet

Admiral Rodney Extra Old is een mooie rum en uitermate geschikt om puur van te genieten.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

I always pick up a few bottles of this rum when I in St. Lucia. I find this rum best when served on the rocks or straight up. Never a disappointment. Smooth, mellow and the bottle disappears quickly.

Posted over 7 years ago by Robert Burr from United States with 7 ratings

Aged in bourbon barrels, this soft, medium bodied spirit shows caramel, sweet dried fruit and brown spices, with a very smooth medium-dry finish. A fine example of a navy style rum from St. Lucia.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum exceeded my expectations based on its current score.

Smells and tastes of brown sugar, molasses, pepper, caramel, bourbon, oak, and leather. Somewhat sweet, but not too much.

Only $49.99 (2016) @ drinkupny.com.

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Bought this on recommendation of the owner of the shop I purchase a lot of rum from. Nice balance on the sweetness and a smooth rounded finish.

Posted over 2 years ago by DiNiko from Greece with 41 ratings

Have been into tasting this particular rum for quite too long and I got originally excited to finally get my hands on the bottle (and the liquid in my mouth!)
It was worth the wait!
Swirled the glassed and left amazed staring at the oily ring and legs. A fresh alcohol kick in the first place woke my smelling and tasting senses. Left it to rest for a while and soon its' true complex character was revealed. Smooth and perfectly balanced, with dominating fine mild sweetness, light oak aromas and rich aftertaste, simply leaves you with a feeling of asking for more!
A place both in my heart and on the top shelve among the rest great labels rated over 8 is well deserved for this premium rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A very nice rum to enjoy neat or with an ice cube to bring out more flavor. Admiral Rodney X/O 12 is a smooth rum with limited heat. A true rum for rum lovers with a complex portfolio from start to finish. Nice mahogany color illustrated from the amount of time aged in bourbon casks. Love the wonderful bottle presentation that stands out to let you know that you are in for a treat!

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

A very nice molasses-and-caramel presentation, quite smooth on the palate and richly flavorful. Sweet but not at all sweetened. Deserves a higher rating but the finish is confounding. Hints of tar and band-aids linger a little too prominently. It's really good rum, but could be great.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jeremy from Australia with 5 ratings

A rum drinkers rum. Skeptical at first but learnt to love it. Strong on the nose and on the palate, definitely a staple in any collection.
A salute to the Admiral.

Posted over 5 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

Great rum that you can drink on the rocks or straight. I went to the distillers and those guys know what they are doing.

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I love the blend of oak, spice and fruit and the gentle burn from the alcohol. The one thing I would like this to have, is a fuller finish. While it is moderately long, it lacks a real punch. But a beautiful rum none the less.

Posted over 5 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Disclaimer: I love the Chairman's Reserve from St Lucia Distillers. So I was anxious to try their next-in-line offering. I found many of the same characteristics here - a wonderful color in the glass, a great variety of flavors in the mouth (though tending toward caramel/burnt-sugar), and a smooth cool finish. This rum is a pleasure to sip. However, the additional aging seems to remove the one thing that makes the Chairman's Reserve unique - it's foxy, grassy, au-naturale aroma. Call me a heathen, but given the price difference, I can't rate this higher than the Chairman.

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

I love this elegantly balanced rum, that fits almost every occasion. 100% collum still with 0% added sugar. Rather complex despite no pot still has been used, in contrast to most other st. lucian rum.
The nose is remarkably sweet, considering the absence of sugar, with notes of oak, leather, brown sugar and vanilla. The taste will make any real rum lover happy, especially considering the price. In many ways it's comparable to rum like Flor de cana 25 or Appelton 21, and at a significantly lower price. On the slightly sweet palate refined notes of leather, sweet tobaco, brown sugar and prunes treats you good, before fading into lovely tingling oaky tones. A bloody keeper.

Posted 23 days ago by Stephan from Canada with 14 ratings

very good rum. and the bottle looks great as well. 8/10

Posted about 1 month ago by Rich from Canada with 25 ratings

I would recommend this one. It is a good relaxing, sipping rum. It starts off average but the finish is
a nice effn warm wave , really enjoy this. Just need a nice campfire now.

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Beau produit à découvrir en dégustation avec de bon amis.

Posted about 2 months ago by miRcea SAVA from Romania with 16 ratings

Strong one. Very nice colour, pure amber. Full vanilla flavour and a very fine apricot aftertaste. Very good!

Posted 3 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

Had on one cube of ice in Soufriere. Good balance of dry and sweet. Caramel and vanilla notes. Mellow out with a bit of time in the glass.




#