Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


154 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

721b6baef5796e07a24563b028a43bae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

Expected more out of this one, still pretty good.

A2b4f0db073c8f55c093b8ab13ed81b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Comes in one of the most beautiful bottles in the world of rum. Absolute stunning shape, and gorgeous wooden cork top. Can’t get enough of looking at the amber color through this bottle.
Lifting the cork reveals smooth vanilla, toffee and dark chocolate.
In the glass - Lovely color and and beautiful legs.
Nose - Powerful… Molasses, toffee, dark chocolate.
Taste - Charred oak, vanilla, toffee, leather, dark chocolate finish.

Absolutely gorgeous rum. Easy on the eyes, powerful in the mouth. Just a nice complete package.
I would recommend adding, just a little water, witch removes the initial harshness of the spirit. This brings out the clean flavors of the aged rum even more. One of my first aged rums. One of my fist re-buys, and one that I, with out a doubt, will buy again.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 5 GPL.
A well balanced rum except for the strong alcohol smell and taste. Great colour and bottle. Well balanced and smooth tastes of vanilla, oak, maple syrup, and burnt caramel or raisins, and there is that smokey biting taste from the bourbon casks it's aged in. To a certain degree this smells and tastes a bit like an over proof or strong Navy style rum. At $109 per bottle in Ontario it's over priced.
I like it, but it needs some moderation with ice or a drop of water to be a sipping rum, unless you like the strong burn it has.

1a5e7e02467dfbfcf7e2dce100118203.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Adrian Pybus from Sweden with 10 ratings

This is a really good rum. Probably the best I've had so far. I really like it. Lots of taste and not too sweet.

Faa57fac59f165515e3f8ea88195cade.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Igor from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Beautiful caramel color with hints of vanilla, roasted nuts and toasted bread
Smooth soft medium long finish

Bd0cba92b39dde93faef8f135320e303.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: St. Lucia
Abv: 40%
Kleur: amber
Fles: 70cl, grappige ½ bol op ½ kubus vorm, met grote houten dop/kurk. Komt in een sjieke doos.

Deze rum heeft 12 jaar in Bourbon vaten gerijpt. Het resultaat is een zachte rum die smaakt als een echte rum wat mij betreft. Veel Karamel, ietwat zoete vanille, eik en een kruidige droge nasmaak.

Al met al een prima rum naar ietwat eentonig.

Edit:
0 gr/liter suiker

66fed6a6172bf7636a71aba820158987.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Temple from United States with 1 rating

My wife brought it back from St lucia and i love the it problem is that I can't find it in the states.......

13b6d5d7c1c06472d61761f2401b5c38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by David from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Admiral Rodney Extra Old is een prachtige Premium Blended Rum van
fijne, lang in eikenhouten vaten gerijpte St. Lucia Rums.

Kleur: Barnsteen
Geur: complex met hints van honing
Smaak: mooi gebalanceerd met geroosterde tonen van vanille en caramel
Afdronk: aardig lang en aangenaam zoet

Admiral Rodney Extra Old is een mooie rum en uitermate geschikt om puur van te genieten.

503a41d58e02dbf4654f9c86b7d793c4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

I always pick up a few bottles of this rum when I in St. Lucia. I find this rum best when served on the rocks or straight up. Never a disappointment. Smooth, mellow and the bottle disappears quickly.

22d7f0aae540146e0fedfee3c20ab6af.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Robert Burr from United States with 7 ratings

Aged in bourbon barrels, this soft, medium bodied spirit shows caramel, sweet dried fruit and brown spices, with a very smooth medium-dry finish. A fine example of a navy style rum from St. Lucia.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

This rum exceeded my expectations based on its current score.

Smells and tastes of brown sugar, molasses, pepper, caramel, bourbon, oak, and leather. Somewhat sweet, but not too much.

Only $49.99 (2016) @ drinkupny.com.