Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

7.8/10 (158 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
44
58
33
10

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

158 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

When I first smelled this, I thought it would be a sweet rum AKA Zacapa (which I do like a lot), however I was wrong.
The first sip was indeed sweet, however then there was a nice alcohol burn. Nice oak and caramel taste.
Had quite high expectations for this one and it did not let me down.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Matured in ex Bourbon Casks.
Taste:
Vanilla, caramel and Oak cask...
-
A Good Rum, Delicate and Raffinate.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

Another rum that stands out for me in the top 3 so far is Admiral Rodney XO 12-Year from St. Lucia. I bought this before reading "rumdood"s review on it, but found out this is one of the ones that got him started on rum obsession.

This rum is aged in sherry casks for a portion of its maturation much like Brugal 1888, but I feel that it has a richer and deeper flavor than the Brugal 1888.

It comes in a beautiful stout bottle, one good for the boat! Feels very Nautical somehow.. looks good on a bookshelf! I buy this whenever I am able to get my hands on it.

The flavor is rich vanilla, brown sugar and spices.

Coloration is a deep dark amber, nice and thick.

The nose gives away the sherry cask maturation in a big way, but is also loaded with butter and spices. It makes an amazing hot buttered rum or eggnog, but sipping it straight is surely the way to go.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

des flaveurs comme le chêne, le caramel avec une touche de vanille agrémente ce rhum. Un soupçon d'alcool en final tout est présent pour un rhum qui se distingue

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Pretty good. No complaints. There's better out there.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

This rum does something of a feint - the robust, squat, navy-style bottle, the name, the marketing fluff, everything hints a heavy, powerful, strong, navy rum. However, this rum is anything but that.

The visual presentation, as I said, is top notch, solid, thick, heavy bottle, massive wooden stopper, everything gives the impression of a prop you would find in a cabin of a naval officer. The smell is very nice, leathery, spicy, warm, inviting. The taste, however, tells us immediately this is a column still rum. Sweetish (I strongly suspect added sugar), apricot, marmelade-like, slightly acidic on entry, the body is however too thin and unremarkable, ending with quite pleasant, spicy tones. The finish is short, with mild burn, touch astringent, and everything fades quite fast.

It's not a bad sipper for those who like their rums mild and easy to drink, but it conflicts with its own presentation, so you may end up with a product you did not really want. I reflect that in my rating.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Adam Arbus from Canada with 17 ratings

$111 - there’s better out there. A very good St Lucia rum with raisin and fruit on the nose. Cinnamon, oak and caramel on the palate. Complex and full; not too sweet and not too much burn.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chef Bobo from Sweden with 20 ratings

The Admiral Rodney is an Icon. A masterblend from the copper pot still. Master blender Mr Harris is combining the perfect aged base rum, (he doesn't disclose the age of the barrels) Blending in heads and tails for a perfect blend, light on the nose with distinct oaky fragrance. light, dry and pleasant flavour with a deep barrelflavour. The color is deep but not molasses artificial, wich I appreciate.
I would recommend any one to get their hands on this rum to be able to experince clean, old rum, not overpowered by additional molasses after ageing.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased as a sample from www.masterofmalt.co.uk for afround the £5 mark. Usually retails around the £55 area.

Amber liquid, nose has a strong laziness with subtle underlying tropical fruit papaya, coconut there's something else too but can't put my finger on it, theres sweetness and a little smoothness too.

It's smooth in the mouth with a touch of warmth, it's a decent sipping rum and has a nice mouth feel I think there's still tropical fruit maybe even pineapple, some oak and a sweet eartiness would buy again.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

The bottle is stunning! The most beautiful i have ever seen. And the story behind the character on it is a exciting one. Nose: caramel, banana and a bit of alcohol. Palate : quite harsh but in a good way. Brown suger, dark chocolate and banana. Big body, long taste that stays in your mouth. Not very sweet witch I like. Maybe it's a 9/10 must try it again soon.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 210 ratings

I had been looking forward to trying this for a long time and was pretty impressed. Lovely mahogany colour in a very elegant bottle with a huge stopper ! Loved the history lesson on the box ( giving the French what for... ) . Good long legs in the glass clinging nicely to the sides . Aroma of caramel , vanilla plus oak and a spicy , fruity something ? Left to vent for 20 mins , still a strong but not unpleasant bite on the first sip , whiskey like maybe ? . A classy sipper and a drop of water brings out more honey and fruit notes. Plus for a longer drink this made one of the best rum n cokes i have ever tasted ! That said probably wouldn't rush into buying another bottle as still hundreds more to try....