Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

7.8/10
166 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
47
61
35
10

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

166 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

First time was on old plantation veranda in St Lucia, was one of the best rums they had. Enjoyed it with a nice cigar. Had it again recently wanting to relive the moment. Good rum 7.5 but not great.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

Great rum that you can drink on the rocks or straight. I went to the distillers and those guys know what they are doing.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I love the blend of oak, spice and fruit and the gentle burn from the alcohol. The one thing I would like this to have, is a fuller finish. While it is moderately long, it lacks a real punch. But a beautiful rum none the less.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Disclaimer: I love the Chairman's Reserve from St Lucia Distillers. So I was anxious to try their next-in-line offering. I found many of the same characteristics here - a wonderful color in the glass, a great variety of flavors in the mouth (though tending toward caramel/burnt-sugar), and a smooth cool finish. This rum is a pleasure to sip. However, the additional aging seems to remove the one thing that makes the Chairman's Reserve unique - it's foxy, grassy, au-naturale aroma. Call me a heathen, but given the price difference, I can't rate this higher than the Chairman.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

I love this elegantly balanced rum, that fits almost every occasion. 100% collum still with 0% added sugar. Rather complex despite no pot still has been used, in contrast to most other st. lucian rum.
The nose is remarkably sweet, considering the absence of sugar, with notes of oak, leather, brown sugar and vanilla. The taste will make any real rum lover happy, especially considering the price. In many ways it's comparable to rum like Flor de cana 25 or Appelton 21, and at a significantly lower price. On the slightly sweet palate refined notes of leather, sweet tobaco, brown sugar and prunes treats you good, before fading into lovely tingling oaky tones. A bloody keeper.

Small arno en erik

Posted 11 days ago by Armi from Netherlands with 24 ratings

Nice flavours, vanille,caramel, soft mouthfeel, long and strong aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by mulorz from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Měl jsem možnost ochutnat vzorek a jeho síla i nasládlá chuť s dlouhým závěrem mě hodně oslovila. Doporučuji vyzkoušet!

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Heinemans from Netherlands with 18 ratings

St Lucia is my favorit rum island and Admiral Rodney one of my favorit brands.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 361 ratings

- vůně jemná, hutnější, karamelová, dub
- chuť jemná, více nasládlá, koření, karamel
Zrání v sudech po bourbonů se promítá do vůně i chutě, příjemný, 40% vcelku dostatečných

Small img 0819

Posted 2 months ago by Morten Graenge from Denmark with 49 ratings

Ikke en rom jeg vil købe igen, Jeg bryder mig ganske enkelt ikke særligt meget om den.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by RumForestRum from Canada with 2 ratings

I was hoping this would be a good sipping rum but I didn’t find it particularly smooth or tasty. I can’t pinpoint exactly why but it just didn’t hit the spot.