Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

7.8/10
173 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
11
48
63
37
10

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

173 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

a lovely smooth rum with a light spicy fruity after taste, nice sipper but I prefer with coke and ice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

Great rum that you can drink on the rocks or straight. I went to the distillers and those guys know what they are doing.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I love the blend of oak, spice and fruit and the gentle burn from the alcohol. The one thing I would like this to have, is a fuller finish. While it is moderately long, it lacks a real punch. But a beautiful rum none the less.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Disclaimer: I love the Chairman's Reserve from St Lucia Distillers. So I was anxious to try their next-in-line offering. I found many of the same characteristics here - a wonderful color in the glass, a great variety of flavors in the mouth (though tending toward caramel/burnt-sugar), and a smooth cool finish. This rum is a pleasure to sip. However, the additional aging seems to remove the one thing that makes the Chairman's Reserve unique - it's foxy, grassy, au-naturale aroma. Call me a heathen, but given the price difference, I can't rate this higher than the Chairman.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 252 ratings

I love this elegantly balanced rum, that fits almost every occasion. 100% collum still with 0% added sugar. Rather complex despite no pot still has been used, in contrast to most other st. lucian rum.
The nose is remarkably sweet, considering the absence of sugar, with notes of oak, leather, brown sugar and vanilla. The taste will make any real rum lover happy, especially considering the price. In many ways it's comparable to rum like Flor de cana 25 or Appelton 21, and at a significantly lower price. On the slightly sweet palate refined notes of leather, sweet tobaco, brown sugar and prunes treats you good, before fading into lovely tingling oaky tones. A bloody keeper.

Small img 20201113 120852365

Posted 27 days ago by DebiQue from Slovakia with 54 ratings

Not my favourite, too smoky.... But very nice vanilla smell

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Gastovski (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 43 ratings

Aroma: Vanilka, v pozadí mandle. Od Princessy se příliš neliší
Chuť: Nasládle kořenitá
Dozvuk: Špetka vanilky a dřevo. Ultrakrátký, plytký, vodový
Sladkost: 0/3
Ochutnán vzorek, 27.1.2021, porovnán s HMS Princessa
Ve vůni je skoro stejný jako Princessa, i když ne tak výrazný. Nicméně v chuti a hlavně v dozvuku je plytký a jakoby zředěný vodou. Špatný rum to vyloženě není, ale v porovnání s Princessou velmi zaostává.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 80 ratings

Na začiatku vás upúta krásna flaša. Chuť a vôna sú tipické pre Sv. Luciu - dub, vanilka, koža, tmavá čokoláda a trochu možno aj tabak alebo dym. Naozaj výborny jemný nasládly rum. Mne osobne by nevadil aj keby bol trochu výraznejší. Manželke veľmi chuti!!! Bohužial tento sa už nevyrába a tak treba skúsiť aj ostatné zo série.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 19 ratings

To bad of the strong alcohol taste. But apart of that, a nice balanced tast of caramel vanilla

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Chet from United States with 192 ratings

Definitely a man's rum. Mild burn, no sweetness whatsoever ever.

Small  d98zz5

Posted 4 months ago by rv from Belgium with 5 ratings

I bought this rum because it had won so many awards.
It was indeed a very good rum to drink. Really enjoyed it. Pity it's empty.
Can't buy or find it here anymore.