Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

7.8/10 (157 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
44
57
33
10

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


157 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by NicoB from Sweden with 29 ratings

Nice looking bottle and excellent taste. Little smoking but sweet and rich.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by alby from United States with 7 ratings

Great rum that you can drink on the rocks or straight. I went to the distillers and those guys know what they are doing.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

I love the blend of oak, spice and fruit and the gentle burn from the alcohol. The one thing I would like this to have, is a fuller finish. While it is moderately long, it lacks a real punch. But a beautiful rum none the less.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Disclaimer: I love the Chairman's Reserve from St Lucia Distillers. So I was anxious to try their next-in-line offering. I found many of the same characteristics here - a wonderful color in the glass, a great variety of flavors in the mouth (though tending toward caramel/burnt-sugar), and a smooth cool finish. This rum is a pleasure to sip. However, the additional aging seems to remove the one thing that makes the Chairman's Reserve unique - it's foxy, grassy, au-naturale aroma. Call me a heathen, but given the price difference, I can't rate this higher than the Chairman.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

I love this elegantly balanced rum, that fits almost every occasion. 100% collum still with 0% added sugar. Rather complex despite no pot still has been used, in contrast to most other st. lucian rum.
The nose is remarkably sweet, considering the absence of sugar, with notes of oak, leather, brown sugar and vanilla. The taste will make any real rum lover happy, especially considering the price. In many ways it's comparable to rum like Flor de cana 25 or Appelton 21, and at a significantly lower price. On the slightly sweet palate refined notes of leather, sweet tobaco, brown sugar and prunes treats you good, before fading into lovely tingling oaky tones. A bloody keeper.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 210 ratings

First time was on old plantation veranda in St Lucia, was one of the best rums they had. Enjoyed it with a nice cigar. Had it again recently wanting to relive the moment. Good rum 7.5 but not great.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by TROY from Canada with 8 ratings

I enjoyed this one. Super smooth and lots of caramel front and back.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Nathan345 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Love this rum it's amazing when sipped and on the rocks it's worth every penny and I dared to try a bit with cola and its still amazing but I will only use it on the rocks to make my drink last longer as its so good. Will buy again and again

Small img 1323

Posted 6 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Very nice bottle with the massive wooden cork plug. It looks very unconventional.
The colour: dark amber
The smell: vanilla and caramel are dominant + a little bitter cocoa powder
The taste: It is rather drier rum. It could be similar to Kirk&Sweeney but the Admiral Rodney is a little smoother acc. to my opinion. The vanilla (ex bourbon), caramel and a certain wood is tasted on the palate.
The aftertaste is quite long.

I rate it with 8.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Stephan from Canada with 14 ratings

very good rum. and the bottle looks great as well. 8/10

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Rich from Canada with 27 ratings

I would recommend this one. It is a good relaxing, sipping rum. It starts off average but the finish is
a nice effn warm wave , really enjoy this. Just need a nice campfire now.