Posting your rating...
Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year rum

Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged

Admiral Rodney Extra Old rum is produced in St. Lucia using a continuous still, and then aged in American oak casks for an average of 12 years.

The rum is named after British Naval Officer Admiral George Rodney, who in 1782 as the Governor of St. Lucia rebuffed the Spanish fleet in the "Battle of the Saints".

7.8/10 (158 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
44
58
33
10

Rate Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

158 Admiral Rodney Extra Old 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

When I first smelled this, I thought it would be a sweet rum AKA Zacapa (which I do like a lot), however I was wrong.
The first sip was indeed sweet, however then there was a nice alcohol burn. Nice oak and caramel taste.
Had quite high expectations for this one and it did not let me down.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 463 ratings

This rum exceeded my expectations based on its current score.

Smells and tastes of brown sugar, molasses, pepper, caramel, bourbon, oak, and leather. Somewhat sweet, but not too much.

Only $49.99 (2016) @ drinkupny.com.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Shaymus from Canada with 6 ratings

Wonderful caramel colour, smooth finish. Lingering notes of vanilla...very nice.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Bought this on recommendation of the owner of the shop I purchase a lot of rum from. Nice balance on the sweetness and a smooth rounded finish.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by DiNiko from Greece with 41 ratings

Have been into tasting this particular rum for quite too long and I got originally excited to finally get my hands on the bottle (and the liquid in my mouth!)
It was worth the wait!
Swirled the glassed and left amazed staring at the oily ring and legs. A fresh alcohol kick in the first place woke my smelling and tasting senses. Left it to rest for a while and soon its' true complex character was revealed. Smooth and perfectly balanced, with dominating fine mild sweetness, light oak aromas and rich aftertaste, simply leaves you with a feeling of asking for more!
A place both in my heart and on the top shelve among the rest great labels rated over 8 is well deserved for this premium rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2664 ratings

Admiral Rodney XO 12y is not bad at all, but not amongst the best either. It has a flavor profile of a Pusser's 10 year old rum if that would exist. A bit of a harsh smell, but not offputting. Strong taste, but flavorful altogether. A bit of burn at the end, but far from the worst burn. I hope they would have made an Extra Old 18 year out of this one, that could have been spectacular.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

A very nice rum to enjoy neat or with an ice cube to bring out more flavor. Admiral Rodney X/O 12 is a smooth rum with limited heat. A true rum for rum lovers with a complex portfolio from start to finish. Nice mahogany color illustrated from the amount of time aged in bourbon casks. Love the wonderful bottle presentation that stands out to let you know that you are in for a treat!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Au nez, ça sent le bois. En bouche, le gout de caramel et crème brûlée. C rhum assemblé entre du 7 ans et 12 ans lui donne une bonne complexité et une bonne longueur au final. Je l'adore, un peu cher, mais pour sa complexité et son gout unique, il vaut le coût.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

A very nice molasses-and-caramel presentation, quite smooth on the palate and richly flavorful. Sweet but not at all sweetened. Deserves a higher rating but the finish is confounding. Hints of tar and band-aids linger a little too prominently. It's really good rum, but could be great.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 94 ratings

Rhum puissant avec une manifique bouteille.. belle couleur...

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jeremy from Australia with 5 ratings

A rum drinkers rum. Skeptical at first but learnt to love it. Strong on the nose and on the palate, definitely a staple in any collection.
A salute to the Admiral.