Posting your rating...
J. Bally Ambre rum

J. Bally Ambre

Martinique | Agricole

5.1/10(18 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
2
1
6
2

Rate J. Bally Ambre

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

18 J. Bally Ambre ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Broccolone from Italy with 1 rating

troppo secco per essere un agricolo e la componente alcolica 45° si sente troppo rapporto prezzo qualità negativo

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by Macrom from Italy with 4 ratings

Well had this bottle by chance and despite all ratings I need to say that this is a really nice and easy agricole rum....very enjoyable on a right night- the kind of thing you feel like when not in search of a demanding aged agricole
Colour: pale yellow
The nose: crispy and alcoholic , slight vanilla at the end.vodka
Palate: sweet agricole, lemon and lime, at first a bit strong....smooth soonafter then lemongrass no doubt.
Almost rounded but finally acid
Exceptional in the way that you can sip it as it is against all odds(princely speaking included) without needing to mixology.
Not suitable in my mouth for “planteur” as it has its strength smoothned by the add of molasses as to give it a “ambre” appearence end.
A very good alternative to aged ones on a night that goes accordingly.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by attalal9 from Sweden with 17 ratings

Really like the value for money with this agricole. Actually a very nice sipping rhum with a lot going for it in the falvors department. Very close to a cognac to my novice taste buds and nose.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Ingevar from Sweden with 8 ratings

Nice strong rum: cinnamon and vanilla nose, smooth sweet taste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Chef Bobo from Sweden with 20 ratings

To my understanding the labling Ambré for Martinique rhum is a product based on young rhum, 18 month on barrel, seamingly with added molasses as a shortcut to more complex flavour and look.
This method of coloring is commonly used by many rum producers but the producers in Martinique clearly declare the shortcut and keep it as a separate product different from their fine aged rhum.

Based on above I rate this ambré a 5 in its segment. It is clean, strong and crisp but I will always have a problem with the unpleasant impure, fusel oil like flavour of young Martinique rhum.

It will probably go excellent well in a ti-punch eith plenty of fresh lime and brown sugar but is not for me enjoyed neat as I dont fancy the fusel-like impurity.

I go get s bottle of coke now and finish the bottle, it was not that bad...

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Joakim Cederlöf from Sweden with 36 ratings

Vass och spretigt.
Tycker att det var mer en Bourbon än en rom.
Visst det finns toner av vanilj, arrak, nougat men still not my cup of tea.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by MrLargo from Sweden with 13 ratings

It will get you drunk, if you can stand the taste. My first and last bottle of this brand. Reminds me of the first and last time I bought a bottle of Calvados, my first thought was, i'm gonna get blind on this shit.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by nofa93 from Canada with 7 ratings

Not great to the nose. Trois Rivieres or Barbancourt 8 are far superior.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by AndReginald from Italy with 48 ratings

Lucky for me I tried it before buying a bottle because it is too dry and I found it not very pleasant. Also a little bit acid.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 46 ratings

This hasn’t gone well. Floral to the point of tasting bad, kind of ‘mousey’ like when you don’t rack home brew for too long. I feel like it might have been a bad batch, cos they can’t have been aiming for that flavour. Soapy.