Posting your rating...
Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year rum

Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year

Caribbean | Aged

8.6/10
8 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
1

Rate Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Plantation 2003 Jamaica Clarendon Mmw 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 6 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 150 ratings

If you haven’t tried Jamaican rum before and you want to learn more about what Jamaican rum can offer. Then you should try this one. It is a clear example of what Jamaica can do. High esters, great Jamaican classic taste. Nose is not as strong as I thought it would be, to begin with, but give it some time and it will show itself. Really good choice If you like Plantation and Jamaica. Recommended!

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by dbrem (PREMIUM) from United States with 10 ratings

The nose of this rum is very harsh but after some time, mellows out. The palate is completely different from the nose with much deeper flavor and aftertaste.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 25 days ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 10/10
smell - 10/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 32 ratings

I'll admit straightaway, I'm coming from the Mai Tai enthusiast corner, I'm not much into drinking this neat. That said, I'd bet this rum comes very close to the original Wray&Nephew 17-years. It has a surprisingly golden colour; well, actually going into a copper direction, just like the Wray&Nephew 17. It has a rich, pungent flavour particular to Jamaican rum - and I would add that the aroma is also rich and pungent. And the finish is nutty and snappy as it should be.
But of course I also had a few straight sips of this rum. It's not dissimilar to the Plantation Jamaica 2005. But the few additional years of aging are appreciable. The aroma is darker, oakier and spicier. The taste is a little tannic, but still on the agreeable side. And it's dry, because they didn't add any sugar this time. In the nose this rum has a lot of fruit, but when going closer to the glass, you also perceive a stingy quality. Finally, the emptied glass reminds me of oriental spices.
Well, just for the sake of the aroma, I personally prefer younger, less aged Wedderburns. But to emulate Trader Vic's original Mai Tai, this is excellent. It has been aged for 17 years BTW. 16 years on Jamaica + 1 year in France = 17 years.

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted 3 months ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 189 ratings

Ce rhum plantation est bien fait, bel emballage. Comme tous leurs rhums une typicité au nez de plantation, peu puissant mais assez agréable banane légère et vanille ainsi qu un goût indescriptible proche du fumé léger mais pas tout à fait. Le goût est meilleur, fin, vanille, fruit tropicaux et banane legere, longueur correcte. Il manque juste un peu de puissance comme sur un agricole, mais c est très facile à boire. Belle bouteille. Si vous voulez un rhum qui sorte de l ordinaire de ceux de mélasse allez y. Si vous cherchez la puissance en goût d un agricole, vous aimerez mais à ce prix allez sur un dillon 12 ans qui sera aussi sur des notes pâtissières avec plus de puissance.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 51 ratings

Well, this is a very special rum. It's really strong on the nose and it sure is an explosion both mouth and nosewise.
Lot's of green apples and citrus on the nose and a lot more that I can't sort out. In the mouth it's oaky, almondy and citrus, as I said: explosion of everything. For me it's a bit too much esters. However it worked awesomely well mixing drink with hibiscus juice, lime and ice with some crushed ginger.
A very special and interesting rum but a bit too much esters for me.

Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Frida Schrödl from Sweden with 1 rating

Fantastic! Will add more info when the bottle is finished.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 330 ratings

Alc./Vol. : 49,5%
Origin : Jamaica – Clarendon Distillery
Raw material : Molasses, 2 weeks fermentation
Distillation : Double Retort Vendome Pot Still
Tropical ageing : 16 years in 200L Bourbon casks
Continental ageing : 1 year in 350L Ferrand casks
Esters : 422 g/hL AA
Dosage : 0 g/L

Yes, your have read it already, a 16y aged Jamaica rum from Plantation without any additives. And with any information you wanna know, directly from the bottler. And also from a long fermentation and pot still distillation for just 58€. I hope this is not the last one time edition :)
Great, we appreciate it.

The nose is intensive, you can cleary recognize Clarendon/Monymusk. The first flavors are the orange peels, anise with some floral notes in the background. But there are some heavy notes of wood, leather and some smoke. This is a great nose and very intensive, for just 58€? I must be dreaming.

The taste is a little bit thin at the beginning, but with anise. The flavors are developing in your mouth.
I would say the taste is dominated by anise, orage and orange peels. It turns dry in the middle. The middle an the finish are very nice. I get orange, orange peels, spice, herbs, bitter plants, medicine and anise.
Yes, this is great stuff. What I need to give it a 10 is a little bit richer initial taste and more fruits. But the rest is very good and complex, I would rate it with 86 points.

Nose: orange peels, anise, plants/herbs, floral notes, citrus, star fruit, white oak, some leather, gum and smoke (in a whisky glas - don't got this aromas in my thumbler)
Taste initial: anise, orange peels, tannins, wood, star fruit, citrus
Middle: orange, orange peels, spice, herbs, bitter plants, medicine, anise
Finish (long): citrus, oak, some earth, melon and star fruit (some other tropical fruits also), some smoke and medicine - astringent mouth feel, anise
Aftertaste: star fruit, orange (beatiful fruity) and floral aftertaste, leather, peppermint, anise - very tasty

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Intensity: 4/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (58€): 4/5