Posting your rating...
Cana Brava Light rum

Rate Cana Brava Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Cana Brava Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

You need to try this rum. It's molasses based, yet with the aromatic vegetality of a fine agricole and enough fruity overtones to make it an outstanding sipping rum. Really distinctive in every aspect. If you're lucky enough to find a bottle, turn it around and admire the beautiful paintings on the back of the front label, as seen through the rum.

Everything about this product - but especially the taste - is top notch. You will not find a better white rum for any price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Makes one of the best traditional daiquiris I've tried (and really good mojito, too). Its light, no doubt. Column-still rums have no weight, making them ideal for easy-going aromatic drinks, or for a relaxed sipping experience. It mixes very well in general, with very little conflict, making it one to return to again and again at the bar: a benchmark for the style. I believe it uses many rums older than 3yrs to create the ideal blend. About $30 for a bottle.

Posted about 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum is a little on the dry side, but has just enough sweetness to make it good. Smells and tastes of sugarcane, allspice, with just a hint of vanilla, citrus, and oak.

Nice, though I slightly prefer other lights such as Diplomatico, Selvarey, and Koloa.

Posted about 4 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

I could enjoy CBL all day its just the right touch of sweetness and easy on the throat making it a true delight.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jason Noel from United States with 5 ratings

I feel like when people are rating white rum they tend to forget what it is supposed to be.

Caña Brava is something very special. Significant thought seems to ave gone into this rum. From the bottle being shaped for different holds and volume markings on it so you can reuse it in the future, to to full flavor that approaches but does not go over the top - I love it. Used in a traditional daiquiri with cane syrup it is spectacular. For me it has taken the "warm up" aperitif cocktail to a whole new level. I do think its flavor profile may be a bit rich if your looking for it to play well with other light modifiers - i.e. an Airmail

I historically don't pay more than $18-$20 for a bottle of solid white rum. Caña Brava is my new exception to this rule and pull it out when I want something a bit more special in a daiquiri or a more forward but not overpowering presence in a tiki cocktail.

Posted 6 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

This was the bottle that taught me about the complexity and pleasure of white rum. Slightly sweet stonefruit notes make this an excellent rum to mix or sip.

Posted 9 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 19 ratings

Pleasantly surprised to find this one is a pretty solid sipper. Very tequila-like with all the vegetal notes. Nice mouthfeel... viscous. Dry with just a hint of sweetness. At $20.99 it's a no-brainer... this goes in the daily go-to rotation.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cana Brava Light while visiting Grand Canyon. Spectacular value at $28 per bottle. Nice old school bottle and label design. Vanilla extract, pure alcohol and plenty of oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Funky ending.

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- At the back of the stale and soft reeds find the orange, mineral, some brine and even some berries develops, a rather interesting profile and could be quite good if it is not been filtered and strip to pale white. (79/16)

P- Lively with spirit kick, while not thin but not giving too much of anything else. (75/15)

F- Short, ok level of sweetness with spirit coat. (75/15)

B/B- 80/17 Clean with good texture, and at least this is not an "UP" version, at 43%, this would be a good mixing rum.

Weighted Rate - 63pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted about 1 year ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

Execellent silver rum to dip or prepare cocktails.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rob Pettigrew from Canada with 22 ratings

Not sure how to describe. Very complex and made an outstanding daquari. Will have to try it in other cocktails or a Cuba Libre, but by far the best white rum I've ever had, although I do want to try the Brugal white rum too!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Josifiend from Australia with 10 ratings

Not much sweetness, weird nose... quite a lot of flavour, smooth for 43%. Can’t put my name on the flavours they are not harsh just not the typical notes of white rum. Can’t wait to try a Classic Daiquiri with it!

Posted about 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

As the title implies, I'm not sure how to rate this. I'm not a white rum fan at all, prefer my darks and spiced, mostly for the notable complexity of flavours. That being said, this is the most complex white I've ever tried, and as such, I have to acknowledge the notes coming through. All I have to go off of is the almost salty but flavourful subdued notes of a fine tequila. This is certainly unique and something I would recommend for someone seeking something interesting and different. I can see how the reviews here favor it as a daiquiri ingredient as it could almost shift the drink to more of a margarita. Definitely recommended.

Posted about 2 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

A good standard light rum for mixing. Bottled at 43% gives it a little extra kick which is nice for tiki drinks. Plays well with anything you throw at it. Not completely neutral though, there is a zingy grass note that’ll push through. I go through more of this rum than any other when mixing. My supplier sells one liter bottles for $23.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I never dreamed that I would find a better tasting white rum than Plantation 3-Star Artisinal, but this one did it. Not only did it win, but with 0 gpl of added sugar instead of 13 gpl for the Plantation version. Tasting side by side, the additives on the Plantation white rum become obvious. No contest! Selvarey White is the only white rum to beat it, and probably because it contains some of this one.

Being created over a very long period of time by the legendary Don Pancho (ex-Cuban rum master distiller who moved to Panama in 1993), one simply cannot go wrong. This is the white rum created for the authentic Cuban Daiquiri. The Mojito is not too far off and only adds mint.

Posted almost 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

even better as a mixer adding that extra touch to a variety of drinks.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This is another white rum that can pass me by ... Foul flavour with harsh afterburn

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

Daiquiri for days baby. Not many better options than this and if you do decide on one let me know

Posted over 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Had this in a daiquiri at club 33 in Disneyland. A true Cuban daiquiri. Panama rum, lime juice and sugar.

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

I've only experienced this is tiki drinks/cocktails. Might be a bit smoother than the cheaper rums for cocktails. Definitely taste the alcohol over much else, but very smooth in comparison to other light rums.

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

You'll never touch Bacardi again. Quite simply a solid, balanced white rum which only adds and never takes away from a cocktail.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I find this to be very solid, but not all that tasty, as I have a preference for pot-still flavor in a white. It's smooth, consistent, and has a clean finish. Good, as the label suggests, for a daiquiri, yet, leaves me wanting more.

Posted almost 5 years ago by JermieB from United States with 3 ratings

Bold warm and spunky. Grassy with hints of fruit.

Very viscous and nice mouth feel.

I like it on an Airmail but makes a killer Mojito as well.