Posting your rating...
Cana Brava Light rum

Cana Brava Light

Panama | Light

6.9/10 (25 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
10
4
5

Rate Cana Brava Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


25 Cana Brava Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

D74459f13a505573ed7ab116052bf231.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

I've only experienced this is tiki drinks/cocktails. Might be a bit smoother than the cheaper rums for cocktails. Definitely taste the alcohol over much else, but very smooth in comparison to other light rums.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

You need to try this rum. It's molasses based, yet with the aromatic vegetality of a fine agricole and enough fruity overtones to make it an outstanding sipping rum. Really distinctive in every aspect. If you're lucky enough to find a bottle, turn it around and admire the beautiful paintings on the back of the front label, as seen through the rum.

Everything about this product - but especially the taste - is top notch. You will not find a better white rum for any price.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Makes one of the best traditional daiquiris I've tried (and really good mojito, too). Its light, no doubt. Column-still rums have no weight, making them ideal for easy-going aromatic drinks, or for a relaxed sipping experience. It mixes very well in general, with very little conflict, making it one to return to again and again at the bar: a benchmark for the style. I believe it uses many rums older than 3yrs to create the ideal blend. About $30 for a bottle.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum is a little on the dry side, but has just enough sweetness to make it good. Smells and tastes of sugarcane, allspice, with just a hint of vanilla, citrus, and oak.

Nice, though I slightly prefer other lights such as Diplomatico, Selvarey, and Koloa.

4889e8d235de614abac629e5c707e0e7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 66 ratings

I could enjoy CBL all day its just the right touch of sweetness and easy on the throat making it a true delight.

598e9e9feefe99840f5666bfbbdcd51e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jason Noel from United States with 5 ratings

I feel like when people are rating white rum they tend to forget what it is supposed to be.

Caña Brava is something very special. Significant thought seems to ave gone into this rum. From the bottle being shaped for different holds and volume markings on it so you can reuse it in the future, to to full flavor that approaches but does not go over the top - I love it. Used in a traditional daiquiri with cane syrup it is spectacular. For me it has taken the "warm up" aperitif cocktail to a whole new level. I do think its flavor profile may be a bit rich if your looking for it to play well with other light modifiers - i.e. an Airmail

I historically don't pay more than $18-$20 for a bottle of solid white rum. Caña Brava is my new exception to this rule and pull it out when I want something a bit more special in a daiquiri or a more forward but not overpowering presence in a tiki cocktail.

B39d5ee9618802229b6fef942e7a1711.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Fozzie500 from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Tried a bottle of this, used it in some cocktails and it did the job, quite an earthy taste, hints of Vanilla
and quite dry with just a hint of sweetness.Prefer it over the usual Bacardi and Coke.

444db4e829fa650e01afab86587049b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by mc from United States with 41 ratings

Always nice to enjoy a rum from a new country, in this rum, Panama. Unfortunately, harsh and unbalanced. Still, worth enjoying at least once.

43d9ff7e21c42aacbda755d03e4a263d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

This was the bottle that taught me about the complexity and pleasure of white rum. Slightly sweet stonefruit notes make this an excellent rum to mix or sip.

Eccd0987c5ad79396af1844ce967312b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 24 ratings

Pleasantly surprised to find this one is a pretty solid sipper. Very tequila-like with all the vegetal notes. Nice mouthfeel... viscous. Dry with just a hint of sweetness. At $20.99 it's a no-brainer... this goes in the daily go-to rotation.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2650 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cana Brava Light while visiting Grand Canyon. Spectacular value at $28 per bottle. Nice old school bottle and label design. Vanilla extract, pure alcohol and plenty of oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Funky ending.