Posting your rating...
Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala rum

Rate Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


95 Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Piet from Belgium with 12 ratings

this ron is really incredible. i haved payed 25€ for this bottle. It's very good balanced, vanilla, agrums. not hard in mouth.
Plantation make good rhum, this one is my favorite in relation with the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by wiedrzensky from Slovakia with 16 ratings

Full bodied, oily, allmond like aroma and taste, light sweet. Well ballanced rum, one of my all time favourites.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chevalivier from Canada with 15 ratings

One of the latest addition in the Plantation portfolio, the updated version is actually a blend of rums from neighbouring Guatemala and Belize. Guatemala at least produces their rums using fermented sugar cane honey (evaporated sugar cane juice) instead of the traditional molasses. Guatemala also uses a mix of bourbon and sherry cask for aging in their own solera system. This makes it quite difficult to put an age statement on the label, and was confirmed by the Ferrand/ Plantation brand ambassador at a tasting event last November.
I went through a bottle of Gran Anejo with some of my friends last summer paring it with some nice cuban cigars. Montecristo no2 to be precise. Honestly the cigar was a bit overpowering, and maybe a lighter Hoyo de Monterrey would be a better match. Even then, the rum was delicious, with some dark chocolate aromas and flavours, and a distinctive licorice finish.
I bought another bottle :)

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

Sweet scent and sweet taste as well, that is followed by sharp spiciness and pungent hay aftertaste.

Whiskey aficionados might like it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala was such a hard bottle to find in the US that it took me over 4 years of searching and scouring and finally a bottle emerged from Germany, so I had to grab one. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala offers a lot of exciting flavors and very clear but sweet flavors like raisins, it hardly has any burn at the end, but a very long and lingering sweet taste in your mouth. Having a back-to-back taste testing with the Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala versus the Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize and you will not find even the smallest amount of difference. They must be a different bottling year for the exact same rum. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala is still a long distance away from the amazing Barbados XO 20th Anniversary rum, but comes as a good second best Plantation rum in my books.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Posted over 3 years ago by Dennis from Denmark with 11 ratings

This Rum is so beautifully balanced in alcohol, body and natural sweetness with perfect notes of wood, and slight notes of chocolate and plums. A lovely piece of distilling work, satisfying the sipping afficionado with a taste for balanced, mild spirits.
A very pleasant sipping experience. Relaxing, soft. Beautiful work.

Posted over 4 years ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

En af de beste rom jeg kender til prisen. Go at nyde med ikke rom kender.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

Til prisen har den rigtig meget at byde på. Skøn rom, en blanding af frugt og sprit, uden for meget kunstig sødme.

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted 5 months ago by Aylesby from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Such a pleasent sipper. A single ice cube, a more than generous shot every half hour and the afternoon drifts by. Sweet but not too sweet. Cognac like. Worth the price and easily available.

Posted 6 months ago by v63d from Germany with 8 ratings

This Plantation rum has disappointed me a little bit. I had already tried other Plantation Rums and had promised me more. When I hold my nose over the glass I notice an alcoholic sharpness. This rum has a pleasant sweetness with actually quite nice vanilla and caramel notes, but they don't last very long. In the finish this rum is clearly too strong for me. Of course, it has 42% alcohol, but I had hoped for more mildness. The very pleasant taste is unfortunately quickly covered by an alcoholic sharpness. However, mixed with Cola, e.g. as Cuba Libre, it tastes quite well.

Posted 6 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

Ikke den store favoritten men grei å drikke, ikke den store opplevelsen.

Posted 8 months ago by Peterpanrha from Belgium with 27 ratings

i paid 32 euro for the bottle in a local grocery store. nice smell,
good balance ,good stuff for your money

Posted 9 months ago by Harry from South Africa with 37 ratings

Finally managed to find some Plantation Rum in South Africa!!! Well worth the search! Notes of dark brown (burnt) sugar, toffee and the Caribbean ocean!

Posted 12 months ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

Can immediately tell this is another quality Plantation rum. Nice oak, tobacco and a bit of licorice in the finish.

Posted 12 months ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

I needed a bottle for my birthday toast with coworkers. I knew few of them like rums drier and really liked the "classic" Plantation and few like sweet rums. This kind of promised both. And delivered. I was generally surprised at how good it is. It's smooth, with kind warm burn aftertaste, light fresh floral body but with toffee and coffee tones. Not too sweet, not too dry, the taste is great, the smell is great. I expected it to be fine, but double ageing did a hell of the job...

Posted about 1 year ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

The one I am drinking is Guatemala and Belize and is 42%..................... and I love it !

Full of lovely flavours, fruity, smooth and with a pleasant afterburn. Great quality stuff and at a reasonable price.

Posted about 1 year ago by Sergey Z. from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Сначала немного попахивает спиртом. Надо дать продышаться. Вкус приятный, мягкий, сладковатый, чуть с дымком. Послевкусие не длинное. Пить лучше в чистом виде, не разбавляя.
Простоват - это напиток не праздничный, а на каждый день, после ужина.

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

I like this better than both of the Appleton estate 12 & 21 yr rums, but still I find this as a middle of the road rum, not very smooth not very refined. I compared this side-by-side with flor de Cana 18 year and the 18 year was much better.

Posted over 1 year ago by Freedom of feet from Belgium with 20 ratings

One of my favourites, well balanced, nice After taste. Not the most strong flavour, gentle, light & nice aroma

Posted over 1 year ago by NewMenace from Romania with 13 ratings

Good sipper with quite a woody after taste. Better than Bacardi 8 in this price range.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Helles Bernstein mit Kupferreflektionen im Glas.
In der Nase etwas Holz, Harz und Karamell.
Im Gaumen kommt zuerst die typische Plantation Süsse und lullt die Zunge ein. Karamell, etwas Vanille, ein paar tropische Früchte, zarte Holznoten und einige Gewürze geben ein schönes Mundgefühl.
Im Abgang schön lang, wie ein Karamell-Sahne-Bonbon.
Ein süffiger Rum für den schmalen Geldbeutel, ohne Ansprüche, für Einsteiger und Süss-Rum Liebhaber.

Light amber with copper reflections in the glass.
In the nose some wood, resin and caramel.
On the palate the typical Plantation sweetness comes first and lulls the tongue. Caramel, some vanilla, a few tropical fruits, tender wood notes and some spices give a nice mouthfeel.
In the finish nicely long, like a caramel cream candy.
A pleasant rum for the small purse, without claims, for beginners and sweet rum lovers.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Facile à boire. Pas trop sucré avec un goût d'amandes.

Posted almost 2 years ago by firsthuman from Germany with 25 ratings

Decent bottle, boring colour. A little too much alcohol in nose and mouth. However, a good value. Okay for sipping, maybe better for mixing... quite similar to the Plantation 5y Barbados, but slightly more caramel in the nose...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bernard from Belgium with 14 ratings

Bon produit, accessible à des amateurs débutant dans le rhum, bouteille à posséder pour faire plaisir à un ami de passage