Posting your rating...
Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala rum

Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala

Caribbean | Aged

7.2/10 (98 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
21
33
31
10

Rate Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


98 Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Sweet rum not complex but still a pleasant rum worth a try but don't expect anything amazing

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by wiedrzensky from Slovakia with 16 ratings

Full bodied, oily, allmond like aroma and taste, light sweet. Well ballanced rum, one of my all time favourites.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chevalivier from Canada with 15 ratings

One of the latest addition in the Plantation portfolio, the updated version is actually a blend of rums from neighbouring Guatemala and Belize. Guatemala at least produces their rums using fermented sugar cane honey (evaporated sugar cane juice) instead of the traditional molasses. Guatemala also uses a mix of bourbon and sherry cask for aging in their own solera system. This makes it quite difficult to put an age statement on the label, and was confirmed by the Ferrand/ Plantation brand ambassador at a tasting event last November.
I went through a bottle of Gran Anejo with some of my friends last summer paring it with some nice cuban cigars. Montecristo no2 to be precise. Honestly the cigar was a bit overpowering, and maybe a lighter Hoyo de Monterrey would be a better match. Even then, the rum was delicious, with some dark chocolate aromas and flavours, and a distinctive licorice finish.
I bought another bottle :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

Sweet scent and sweet taste as well, that is followed by sharp spiciness and pungent hay aftertaste.

Whiskey aficionados might like it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala was such a hard bottle to find in the US that it took me over 4 years of searching and scouring and finally a bottle emerged from Germany, so I had to grab one. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala offers a lot of exciting flavors and very clear but sweet flavors like raisins, it hardly has any burn at the end, but a very long and lingering sweet taste in your mouth. Having a back-to-back taste testing with the Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala versus the Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize and you will not find even the smallest amount of difference. They must be a different bottling year for the exact same rum. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala is still a long distance away from the amazing Barbados XO 20th Anniversary rum, but comes as a good second best Plantation rum in my books.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Dennis from Denmark with 11 ratings

This Rum is so beautifully balanced in alcohol, body and natural sweetness with perfect notes of wood, and slight notes of chocolate and plums. A lovely piece of distilling work, satisfying the sipping afficionado with a taste for balanced, mild spirits.
A very pleasant sipping experience. Relaxing, soft. Beautiful work.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

En af de beste rom jeg kender til prisen. Go at nyde med ikke rom kender.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

Til prisen har den rigtig meget at byde på. Skøn rom, en blanding af frugt og sprit, uden for meget kunstig sødme.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Flauda from France with 12 ratings

Rich nose, round anb tasty in mouth with a quite long finish, this rhum has many things to offer.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Похоже, я всё-таки не фанат Plantation. Выдержка и довыдержка в коньячных и бурбоновых бочках, а также сложный бленд ромов разных стран, конечно, придаёт особую специфику и характер, но, при этом, напиток становится больше похож не на ром, а на какую-то экзотическую настойку. Вкус мягкий, насыщенный и благородный, чувствуется, что это качественный серьёзный напиток, но фруктово-коньячный компонент, доминирующий во вкусе и послевкусии, лично мне не заходит.

It looks like I'm not a Plantation fan after all. Ageing (basic and additional) in bourbon and cognac casks as well as complex blend of rums from various countries evidently gives a very special character to this drink, but the drink itselfs looks (tastes and smells) not like rum, but rather like some exotic liqueur. Taste is smooth, rich and noble, it is really a drink of high quality, but its fruity and cognac-like components that dominate taste and aftertaste are just not my cum of tea (rum).

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Szczupak from Poland with 21 ratings

Handsome, good looking bottle. Same as the content. Recommendable to most, great as a gift 8/10