Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


315 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I've tried the 18 year also, which I also rate a 9, but I prefer the 12 by just a little. It's really tasty and a true pleasure to drink neat.

I like a good sipping rum that tastes like rum. Smooth, flavorful, with a modest bite to it. It's got to have a hint of sweetness to it, as that's what rum is all about. This one fits perfectly.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mike from United States with 2 ratings

Hints of nutmeg and cinnamon in the bouquet. An oakey taste with a hint of leather and clove. A small bite at the end.

Posted about 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 14 ratings

I'm not always in the mood for this one, but nothing else can beat it when I'm feeling introspective. It's a more complex animal than most. The nose barks of spice. Taking a healthy sip, there's a flood of flavors. Smoke and oak are most prominent. The traditional molasses and cane flavors are the base, lying underneath a dark and earthy layer. The finish is lasting and contemplative. This is the drink of a wise man with a long beard.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Gout alcool, nez épicé avec la présence de cannelle. Manque de finesse, sec.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Had this on the rocks. Mild flavor but no richness. Not bad but not a good value and there are plenty of better sipping rums as a much better price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Max from United States with 8 ratings

You can't go wrong with K&S. not overly sweet, very smooth. Try with a couple of ice cubes NO COKE

Posted over 2 years ago by Buz from United States with 1 rating

Beautiful color, nice bottle. Fairly dry with a persistent note of a not-so-pleasant wood taste.
For people who find a peaty scotch comforting. It's not what I expect from my rum. Now what to do with a barely used bottle of rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cold Rain from United States with 10 ratings

I found the shape of this bottle and the story behind the name Kirk and Sweeney intriguing and that was honestly the reason for my purchase. I just hoped that the liquid inside was just as interesting. I have to say after finishing the 750ml bottle, it left me a bit disappointed. The first thing I noticed about this rum was how weak and watery it felt in the mouth. No kick so to speak. The flavor is not bad at all it's just that I couldn't find much of it. My opinion is that $54.00 is too high of a price to warrant another purchase. There are many rums in this price range that I enjoy so much more. To me this is a middle of the road rum. Nothing offensive, but nothing outstanding either.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mo from United States with 15 ratings

Tasting this was great. The nose is heavy with vanilla-extract followed by caramel, toffee, and butterscotch. After the hard-candy aromas come dried fruits like plum, fig, and a hint of banana. On the palate, there is notable dusty oak, followed by a hint of orange peel with a medium-long finish of baking spices like cinnamon, cardamom pod, and a wee bit of clove, but it’s the vanilla that lingers the longest.

Posted over 2 years ago by Randy from United States with 3 ratings

Experienced this at a rum festival. It was really smooth.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Pleasant on the nose and has a very smooth finish to it. After taste dosnt seem to last to long but overall a very nice sipping rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Frank from Canada with 5 ratings

Close to the scotch, dry and a lot on the alcool. If u let it breathe a while, Its a soft rhum without too many complexity but a bit expensive in my opinion.

Posted over 2 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

This was maybe my 2nd rum for sipping after Flora De Cana and what a stellar drink this is. Big vanilla followed by sweet and a little heat. This was my favourite until I tried Zafrans haha. But seriously I let this rum sit in a glass for a few hours before consumption because I think it taste far better that way.

Posted over 2 years ago by CJ from United States with 3 ratings

Until a few short years ago, I believed that Rum was mainly good for mixing with sodas and juices to add a little flavor and a lot of kick to a cocktail. That was until one night at Foundation Tiki Bar in Milwaukee when I was pleased to meet a bottle that was a game changer.
Don at Foundation and I struck up a ready friendship one evening when I was visiting the area. I told him that I was probably going to move to the Dominican Republic for work. He pulled a beautiful and heavy bottle from the shelf and asked if I had tried Dominican Rum. I had not, so he introduced me to Kirk and Sweeney 12 year old and with that a whole new world opened to me.
Perhaps I score the 12 a bit high, but to be fair, it is kind of my first love when it comes to the world of fine rums. I have to say that the 18 is definately worth the few extra bucks, but as far as I am concerned, one can stop there, the 23 is not much better, if at all than the 18.
The Kirk and Sweeney is not overly sweet and has lovely overtones of vanilla. It is smooth as a mink glove and is in my opinion, much overlooked.
Now, I have recently moved to the Cleveland area and alas, Kirk and Sweeney is not distributed here. I hope that they will find their way into our market because I miss them.
I have won over more than a few scotch drinking buddies with K&S.

Posted over 2 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

With a toffe flavor I don’t use a lime. If you have had Pappas Pillar you are getting close to the flavor, but Pappa P has a stronger flavor. Not that good for sipping but I do use coke and lime with this brand. I would buy it again.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 10 ratings

Very smooth and easy to drink. I am impressed with all the Kirk and Sweeney rums, and they won't break the bank!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 299 ratings

I visited my favorite liquor store in hopes of finding another bottle of El Dorado 12-year-old, which was the only vintage sold out. I then saw this highly acclaimed aged rum agricole for only $27. Buying it was a no-brainer. It is one of the smoothest rums that I have ever tasted with very little burn. As for flavors, all I can taste is caramel. Adding ice to it did not improve it, so this is a smooth sipping rum to be enjoyed neat. It would also put any gourmet desert dish over the top. In a mixed drink or even a craft cocktail, that would be unthinkable.

Update about three weeks later: After letting it sit for a few weeks with only a couple of snifters tasted at first, the flavor profile changed drastically. The intense sweetness was replaced by the smell and taste of wet leather, as in wet sandals or a wet leather belt. This is not necessarily a bad thing because it reminds me of fools who don't know about proper footwear on the beaches of the Caribbean. It's either barefoot, cheap flip-flops, or reef booties for snorkeling or scuba diving. The smell and taste is not over powering and this rum is still one step above the horrible Zacapa Solera 23. Bourbon oak barrels are known to impart a taste of leather, but it is always subtle and nothing this strong. Maybe the sugar brought out the leather smells. At any rate, I docked this one a point and may not buy it again.

Now about the bottle with multiple purposes. First off, it suckered all of us into buying the cheap rum inside. It is very hard to pour and needs two hands. Quite often, a nut cracker is needed to unscrew the tight fitting cork. This is without question one of the heaviest rum bottles that I ever bought. It would seem like the best bottle to bring onto the boat filled with complex pre-mixed tiki drinks that would avoid tipping over, but empty bottles of Papas Pilar or Pyrat XO serve this purpose much better. This K&S also happens to be a much better rum than those other two bottles just noted.

This was my very first review for Rum Ratings and this bottle was purchased after reading many of these reviews. Plantation Pineapple reviews are what lead me here in the first place.

Update May 7, 2019: For those of you who still have the old bottles of K&S with them being widest at the top, KEEP THEM as they will soon become collector's items!!! The new bottles are totally round and look like rum versions of Chambord Liqueur. I kid you not! I at first criticized my bottle of K&S 12 as being hard to pour and needing two hands. At least the cork fits tight and the bottle is unlikely to spill on a rocking boat out to sea! After having a lot a very bad rum bottle designs, those original K&S bottles are for keeps! Hang on to them.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chip Brooks from United States with 13 ratings

Very nice rum. Not as sweet as some of the other popular brands such as Diplomatico, Zacapa and Zaya. Well balanced and smooth.

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from Canada with 4 ratings

Great looking bottle and back story to this rum. I bought this bottle for my son for Christmas 2017, and he offered me the first sip. Hints of vanilla and toffee when it was first opened. The toffee flavour continue with every taste. A great rum overall. Merry Christmas Son!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 6 ratings

I purchased this because of all the rave reviews. It’s good, but it isn’t mind-blowing. Balanced, very smooth, but rather light-bodied, fairly plain, and not much in the way of depth or complexity. Lightly fruity, some light wood character, and a dryish, vanilla finish. It’s a pleasant, light, easy-going sipper but I wouldn’t call it great, reviews here are kind of surprising? I expected a little more out of a 12 yr rum with an average of 8/10 rating.
Side note: Fancy packaging doesn’t impress me, in fact - quite the opposite - it makes me suspicious that the product isn’t that great. Maybe I should have thought about that. Also, this bottle sucks to pour! Bad design.

Posted over 2 years ago by Greg Jackson from United States with 6 ratings

Great caramel color, and caramel nose to follow. Amazingly smooth with a hint of sweetness and vanilla undertones. Very nice!!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Max Rum from United States with 7 ratings

I just picked up a bottle for the first time.
I have been drinking rum for quite some time now but still have middle of the road knowledge.
For me K@S is just meh, I found it was very bland in taste as well as aroma.
Very underwhelming across the board. The best thing about this rum is the very cool bottle.
Don't think I would buy it again.

Posted over 2 years ago by PitBullCH from Switzerland with 14 ratings

Found this in my local Rio Getränkemarkt recently and gave it a try - tastes a little raw for a 12-year old, but has a decent colour and structure/legs, and I do like the bottle shape I have to say. Would buy it again, but there are better out there.

Posted over 2 years ago by Henri from Finland with 16 ratings

Sweet, but not too sweet. I like it. Aaaaaa

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan from United States with 22 ratings

Tastes of vanilla, caramel, and molasses. Well balanced. Not too sweet, not too dry. Great sipping rum!