Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10 (362 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
7
46
81
122
83
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

362 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert from United States with 63 ratings

I bought a bottle for $28 and would be willing to spend more after tasting this. Caramel, vanilla, and oak flavors with no burn. Good looking bottle also.

Small screenshot 2020 09 05 at 09.58.03

Posted 11 days ago by Boyse69 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Love the branding first class look about it

Taste is very nice 40 % ABV

Cost £30 Great to give as a gift , Looks a cut above the retail shelf . only had the 12 year so far

I will be trying the others 18 year £40 23 year £49 then a massive Jump to the XO £190 - 280 in 2021
I own a bottle and only rate what I have bought

Small img 20201109 183045

Posted 22 days ago by Michal Ernest from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

Tento rum jsem ochutnal o Vánocích u známého. Jeho žádná vůně mne překvapila. Shodli jsme se se známým, že na rozdíl jiných rumů, které jsme ten den pili, jsme u tohoto vzorku necítili žádnou vůni. Chuť již byla docela dobrá, mírně nasládlý příjemně pitelný rum. Celkově tedy zklamání, škoda, možná někdy příště.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Tommyswayze from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Now this is a funny one for me i am fairly new to drinking rum and have never spoken-to an experienced rum drinker . The smell to me there is no obvious smells maybe a bit of oak and coffee but nothing clear to me. The taste just ok again with nothing really jumping out on the flavours quite strong alcohol taste with a bit of burn but does taste nice on the front of the tongue. I find if i drink to big a mouth full it kills me palette but yet i do like this rum i have now had 6 bottles over 2 years . Now for what i like most this is a really relaxing drink this is a really chilled drink similar effect red wine does to some people . I find the best way to drink this rum is poor a decent measure and put a good series on or a film sit back an chill and you find yourself getting so focused and into the movie its great really relaxing i would not drink this at a party really nice chill out drink

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Uvbntangoed from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Lovely bottle and the rum ain’t too bad either.
It’s a nice aged rum

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Papa Large from United States with 3 ratings

In a word, yuck! Way too sweet. It's ok in a cocktail, but there are better choices that are more affordable. Cool backstory, cool bottle, but lousy rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by TY from Austria with 61 ratings

Goldbraun mit mittleren Schlieren im Glas.
In der Nase zurückhaltend, sehr dezent nach Karamell.
Am Gaumen eine unerwartete Geschmacksverstärkung mit verschiedenen Nuancen. Beim ersten Schluck zeigt sich noch ein etwas scharfer alkoholischer Eindruck. Dann dezente Süße, feine Würze, etwas Holz, etwas Frucht, Butterscotch.
Mittlerer Körper, rund und ausgewogen.
Mittellanger Abgang.
Ein guter Sipper zu einem angemessenen Preis, aber für mich knapp an der 8 vorbei.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 56 ratings

In my opinion it’s almost flawless. It’s uniquely flavoured. Full of the perfect blend of spice. Not overwhelming and leaves you wanting more after every sip. The only thing that could make it better is smoothing out the aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Wo1fpacker from United States with 8 ratings

From the get go it's obvious this is sweetened after distillation. But Kirk & Sweeney is still an enjoyable rum experience either as a casual sipper or in a simple cocktail like a daiquiri or a planter's punch. Palate is sweet with hints of almond, biscuit and heavy molasses. Aroma is has a *hint* of burning caramel. All in all not a regrettable purchase.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by dhelliwell@comcast.net (PREMIUM) from United States with 9 ratings

This rum is not particularly sweet, has a good color, a bit of a burn on the medium finish but not harsh. Overall, quite drinkable neat but there is a slightly off flavor that I am not good enough to identify. It has a slight chemical taste - may be alcohol and charred oak, I suppose. Nice bottle as well.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by iedalgic from United States with 2 ratings

Huge disappointment, and better choices out there for the price. Very strong taste and smell of vanilla, so much so that I wonder if this is artificially flavored - like dumping a small bottle of vanilla essence into a bland rum. I can't believe that much vanilla can develop naturally from aging in a barrel, with pretty much no other flavors developing at the same time.
Not much else apart from the vanilla taste and smell. The only positive is that it doesn't have too much burn. Useless as a mixer too, because the smell of vanilla is overpowering.