Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (325 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
7
41
65
114
79
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


325 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

96e9bc451b80b665b4c1df57bbee2e8d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Soft with persistent flavors (sugar cane, molasses, vanilla, tobacco). Recommended !

1c7cc2bed0a64166b47f872df23a6bcf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Nice especially in a old fashioned but it does remind me of bourbon anyway with lost of wood spiciness but didn’t get much sweetness from it. Wasn’t wowed by it

D32701b2be49342f5fbfd3332074fcd4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by asloper6001 from United States with 9 ratings

Awesome rum for the price. Definitely want some more.

C36065b815970fe3cb3f13719b27cdcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 15 ratings

I prepared myself not to like this rum. I was pleasantly surprised when I received it as a gift and enjoyed with a large ice cube. This very quaffable rum has spicy notes up front, but mellows into vanilla and toffee on the back. I really like it. Looking forward to trying the older varieties.

1c6f97c171681e2f3656ce1f99ead231.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by kirkydu (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

I bought 2 bottles of Kirk and Sweeney a few weeks ago when I saw at the upscale grocer on discount. A bottle of the 12 year ($29) and a bottle of the 23 year ($35). This 12 year decants well in about 10-20 minutes. You will get a strong and flavorful aroma. One tasting was neat. Neat is smooth, but not super smooth and it has a firm burn - not as strong as many others though. The flavors do make you want more (or maybe I like to drink), vanilla, honey, a little oak, a hint of cocoa and berries. I tried again with an big ice cube. Better as I like the dilution. Again with an ice cube and a lime wedge. Decent mix, but not an ideal match. Finally, decanted with a pinch of organic Sugar in the Raw and added an ice cube. That's the ticket.

F81a0683eb3a0a66164d93b076d76a19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Joey7415963 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

For the flavour I'd rate it around a 7, but when price and presentation are factored in it has to have an 8. One thing I'm not so fond of is really sweet rums with little burn, so if you're after a good, strong flavour for a good price I highly recommend this!

Bbab1b851e3aeb6f04a1350dba16e092.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

Great rum at a fantastic price, one that I always want to have on my shelf

4e26b39bc346d7afc2dbe51cd3ce5f77.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by carl from United States with 32 ratings

This was just okay as a sipper, I ended up mixing it. It has a strong woody sweet smell and similar taste. Not my favorite.

71266f885e2e332045318e08a227f592.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by djspark from Australia with 7 ratings

Balanced not too sweet, great rum (wanted the 23 yo but impossible to source).
My go to is Appleton 12yo

10d8542da5036140fadbcc148d1e5efa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

I really enjoy the 23 yr old K&S and a friend bought me the 12 yr old to try. Great color and smell and first taste is packed with flavors of vanilla and caramel. But the harsh alcohol bites through to ruin the ending. Still not a bad run and will do in a pinch. Worth the price but it’s older cousin is much better.

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 72 ratings

Recently my friend and I sat down with Kirk & Sweeney, 12, 18 and 23 year olds. They are all terrific. I mean great. I wasn't too surprised to find I liked the 12 better than the 18 and almost as much as the 23. My friend agreed. Age doesn't always mean better. I learned this the hard way with Scotch There are 10 year olds that are far superior to 25 year olds. This lesson came at considerable personal expense. 25 year old single malt Scotch is NOT cheap! That is what makes K&S so remarkable. A rum this great for $30????? OUTSTANDING VALUE. The rum itself is smooth, robust and not too sweet. Vanilla, coffee, cinnamon and molasses. Extremely well balanced. Smooth as silk alcohol bite. Finish is shorter than the 18 and 23. Nose is not as enticing as the 23. I like it equally neat or on ice. But for this price it is amazing. It is a quality rum that I would pay more than twice as much for and rate the same if it did cost that. Great stuff!