Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (339 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
8
41
71
119
80
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


339 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

A delicious sipper, wonderfully complex yet smooth and not overly sweet. A fantastic value for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 117 ratings

Really solid aged rum. I had low expectations because I can find this in most grocery stores, but wow it is good. Priced right, easy to sip. This is a great starter for novice rum sippers. Lots of flavorful notes that are easy to recognize.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Mjayne from United States with 12 ratings

Sweet and smooth. Pairs very well with muddled espresso and chocolate bitters

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Definitely on the sweeter side, but it does not suffer a great deal for it.
A great mixer for any drink you want to add very few ingredients to.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 23 ratings

A nice 12 year with a great bottle.

Wonderful with MX cola. Pleanty of vanilla, caramel, with a nice aftertaste.
.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I was not blown away by this rum. A bit harsher than the 23, but still an ok rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Very nice package, great taste and smell, could be longer aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Drewbacca from United States with 15 ratings

Title says it all. This is a good rum. I prefer the vanilla, sweeter rums so this is right up my alley. But for five bucks more you can get the 18 year which is way better. I don't think moving up to the 23 is really worth it and doesn't add much value.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Jamiet from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Bought this to try as my usual 12 year Flor de Cana was out of stock.
I'm far from being an expert, but I don't really think it's that good at all, even as a mixer. It tastes like so many other bog standard rums from the local off-licence and isn't very smooth. All the fake tat on the bottle trying to make it look like something that fell off the back of a salvaged schooner is just naff. I can only think that many of the reviews on here are possibly fake.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 18 ratings

This is a quality rum, but it seems that the barrels it was aging in has transformed it from a rum flavour to a whiskey one. Not really for me. The bottle presentation is quite nice.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Justinpie from United States with 13 ratings

Did I get a bad batch? Astonished by all the 10s. To me, the flavor wasn't terribly complex or impactful - a little vanilla, a bit of tropical fruit, little smokiness. It was never offensive, just... barely there. It was very smooth, however. Would be a great rum for people who enjoy whiskeys, but for the price you can get better rums.