Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10 (362 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
7
46
81
122
83
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

362 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

A delicious sipper, wonderfully complex yet smooth and not overly sweet. A fantastic value for the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

Zaya is my absolute go to when looking at a sipping rum. Sweet, smooth, caramel. Kirk and Sweeny is it's mature brother. The sweet caramel is still there, but muted in the background by the "adult" oaky maturity and oh my god the smoothness. This is a definite additional MUST in my cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

It's a great smooth rum. No burn & very enjoyable. I tried it neat, then tried it with a small ice cube. I much enjoyed the rum with the ice. It brought out more flavors and was much more enjoyable. It reminded me of Plantation XO. I would definitely buy it again. $35 amazing price point!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by deron from United States with 7 ratings

I really enjoy this rum. I've purchased this one a few times. Complex and tasty. Plus a cool bottle!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by cesar from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Au nez c subtil, comme beaucoup de rhum sa sent la vanille mais en aucun cas lalcool se qui est fort agreable, en bouche c ultra legger, volatile avec une extreme douceur qui laisse en fin de bouche une fraicheur avec un gout de polypode (reglisse tres subtile), il invite tres clairement a y retourner, il est a mon avis tres traitre si on en abuse lol belle decouverte.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Greg from Switzerland with 1 rating

Très jolie bouteille qui incite à l'achat avant mm de savoir de quoi il en retourne...
Nez subtile, il m'a fait penser à l'Arcane extraroma.
Ne pas se fier à la première gorgée, qui annonce un rhum léger, très facile à boire, voir mm plat en fin de bouche...... Il tape fort!
Très bon rhum bien équilibré, après dégustation, il laisse une impression "rappeuse" en bouche.
La petite soeur est déjà en réserve... Ce rhum pousse au vice...

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by TCR_PNW from United States with 2 ratings

Good mid range sipping rum at an excellent price point. Sweet, but not over so. Vanilla on the nose, vanilla on the pallet, vanilla on the finish. Not overly complex, but a great sipper that won't break the bank. After first opening, there was some initial saccharin bitterness on the finish that fades with time in the glass. After the bottle was open a couple weeks it faded completely. Initial tasting neat out of a Glencairn glass.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

Smooth, subtle flavor. Not going to knock you off your feet, but sits well on the tongue. Maybe too subtle to mix, but not so much that it's flavorless. Far from it. And as others have noticed, the bottle being so beautiful and classy just completes this as a great gift rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Poppy from United States with 7 ratings

One of the best rums i ever had. Smooth and easy. Got it as a present. Would probably not have bought it off shelf. Due to fancy schmancy packaging and rumrunner story. But alas i am now looking for a local vendor. Great stuff! Could be sold for twice as much as asking price. Highly recommend. Great to drink strait would be a shame to mix a drink with.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

I recently came across this rum from recommendations on forums. So I had it on my Xmas list and lo and behold I had a bottle under the tree. The bottle being short and stout is a bit cumbersome to hold when compared to taller bottles. Oh, but it's what's inside that counts. Great color, good legs, smooth and flavorful with a hint of vanilla. I was a fan of Bacardi 8 but this Dominican has my vote.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 28 ratings

Picked it up for a reasonable price and haven't looked back yet. Strong but not too strong of a taste with hints of vanilla and oak...Haven't tried it in cola yet, something tells me it would be a waste to do so. But in a Orange/Banana juice mix it was superb,