Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10
370 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
8
47
89
121
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

370 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

This was maybe my 2nd rum for sipping after Flora De Cana and what a stellar drink this is. Big vanilla followed by sweet and a little heat. This was my favourite until I tried Zafrans haha. But seriously I let this rum sit in a glass for a few hours before consumption because I think it taste far better that way.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

This rum has a great taste and no bad after taste or burn, Very smooth. The bottle is unique looking. The color is nice but the aroma is a little weak. Not quite as good as El Dorado 12 yr or Diplmatico Reserve but definitley worth the money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

This is an above average rum, but nothing to go out of your way for. The bottle/presentation is great.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

The batch #15 (bottle 18505) I found incredibly dry with a full body with some oak but spice dominating. Nosing was dominated by spice mainly cinnamon and clove with underlying very light tones of vanilla. Easily Cuban in style but showing its Dominican Flare. The finish sticks around for a few moments where it does have some lingering fading light sweetness and very slight vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by jason from United States with 4 ratings

Like to sip this rum but makes the most amazing rum cake

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Stephan from Canada with 15 ratings

The liquor store had a tasting the other day and I gave it a try. Seems like my taste may differ of the mass. I don't know if it's the mix of flavors that is too complex or the oak casks and spice notes, but overall I did not enjoy it that much. It's not a bad rum but there are better choices out there for me. 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Benancio from United States with 1 rating

This is an amazing Rum, extremely smooth.

On the nose are banana and vanilla notes.

The pallet delivers the same, banana, vanilla, raisin, licorice, root beer, ice cream.

The finish is medium, nice mouth feel coats the entire mouth.

Nice sipper. Would go well in a cake.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 2 gpl. Was thinking of buying this just for the bottle but the liquor store had a tasting that day and I gave it a try. It is a bit woody at the first but then mellows out and sweetens a bit. Nice finish and a pleasing after burn. The bottle and the history of the name are interesting. I give this a 6.5 for the taste and another half point for the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

I really enjoy handling this one, love the super thick glass base. It is drier and less sweet, the wood/smoke in the flavor is very low key. Still working on what keeps me coming back over the presentation! The finish is smooth but didn't have a identifiable lingering after taste that I usually go for

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Erik Deckers from United States with 8 ratings

Although I'm new-ish to rum, I already know this is one of my favorites. Not too sweet, and a more "grownup" taste. This is for serious rum drinkers, not to be mixed with Coke or anything that might hide the taste.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Sweet and smokey, this aged rum has hints of oak and vanilla. This is a great sipping wine that could turn the biggest cognac enthusiast. One of my favorites.