Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10(366 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
7
46
86
122
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

366 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

A delicious sipper, wonderfully complex yet smooth and not overly sweet. A fantastic value for the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

I have been waiting to purchase this rum for some time so when my neighbour arrived with a new bottle in hand, ba-bam! Very good rum. Light but with good flavours, vanilla, honey with only a touch of oak. I don't like a rum that appears to be in the barrel too long for the sake of "aging the label" to increase the price, but this rum was spot on. I recommend buying this rum, or at least mooching it off your neighbour.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

I got on to sipping rums after visiting a distillery in Nassau. This is one of the first I tried. Surprisingly, my wife acquired the habit too after trying this rum.

There is a very strong aroma of vanilla in this rum. It have since tried the K & S 18 and it has an even stronger scent The rum is smooth and you have a hint of vanilla in the taste. Very good sipper with slightly more alcohol burn than the 18 year..

I drink it on the rocks with with one ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

I did rank this rum as 10 because I think it surpassed the El Dorado 21 which I ranked as a 9. A 9.5 would have been my choice but not sure how to enter it as such on Rum Ratings. Thus was the first top shelf (at least based on price) I ever purchased. It was money well spent and still makes for the best sipping rum I have tried to date. Would love to try one I'd rate better.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Maybe it's me...but I detected very little aroma, either from the bottle or glass, and very little flavor when I tasted it. Two good-sized pourings later, and I'm still waiting to taste some rum. There are hints of vanilla and oak - pretty standard stuff these days - but nothing remarkable. Smooth is one thing, but this stuff is practically invisible. A good "practice" rum for newbies. I paid $22 for the bottle (which itself is obnoxiously squat and awkward to hold). All in all, not my favorite by a long shot.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

This rum ist not for you if you like the sweeter kinds of rum. It ist actually pretty 'dry'. A lot of oak, a bit of toffe, a little bit mor of coffee. A very fine and subtle aftertaste. Not much in the nose, though, wich makes it lose one point.

Small img 3915

Posted over 5 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Pleasant taste but oak dominates the profile too much in my opinion. Hard to get a feel for the original distillate.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

The bottle is gorgeous so that is a really nice feature. Popping the cork it smells like that bold rum I like. Not magical smelling, alcohol, oak,vanilla. Pretty usual stuff. Yeah you definitely have to let this one breath for like 20 minutes. If you don't it clashes all together and really isn't that good at all. The smokey taste really stands out like no other rum that I can think of. Very very dry and not very sweet. Vanilla oak taste with not too much complexity, its unique in the fact its not traditionally sweet like most rums now a day. If you like flor de cana rums this is a step up from them. This rum really isn't my style so I cant rate it as good by my standards but for its style it does do a good job. This would be an excellent cigar rum if I smoked.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

This is a fantastic rum for when you're in the mood from something less sweet than Ron Zacapa 23 or much less sweet than Diplomatico Reserve. It wonderfully preserves all the richness of its cane heritage with great carmel rum depth and nuance along with a slowly fading finish that makes you long for another sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

Absolutely delicious - recommend leaving it for 20 minutes to really open up.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Nice balance of flavors. Picking up vanilla and oak. Wonderful silky mouthfeel.