Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10
368 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
8
46
87
122
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

368 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

This was maybe my 2nd rum for sipping after Flora De Cana and what a stellar drink this is. Big vanilla followed by sweet and a little heat. This was my favourite until I tried Zafrans haha. But seriously I let this rum sit in a glass for a few hours before consumption because I think it taste far better that way.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike Colligon from United States with 9 ratings

Wonderful caramel color with a warm smooth delivery that resonates with spices. A true delight on the palate with a warm finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

N - Hazelnut, Dark Chocolate, Coffee. Somewhat musty. With time, you get some light caramel and coconut, but the alcohol also seems to become more prominent.
P - Lots of caramel, faint honey and creme.
F - Campfire smoke that slowly morphs into a pleasant vanilla.
Nothing crazy or out there, but carries some nice complexity and has a bit of its own personal character and sips easy. Also, like a lot of people say, this rum could easily be sold for much more. It checks all the boxes nicely!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

I wanted to like it more, but did not. On par with the Botran Reserva. No enjoyable aftertaste. Not a bad one. Just not a good one. Meh.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 410 ratings

Schöne Flasche und gute Aufmachung.
Wirkt sehr leicht in der Nase und Gaumen
Früchte, Toffee, Vanille, Karamell.
Abgang ein wenig kurz.
Ein ganz netter Sommerrum

Beautiful bottle and good presentation.
Very light in the nose and palate
Fruits, toffee, vanilla, caramel.
Finish a little short.
A very nice summerrum

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Fred Ramey from United States with 28 ratings

. . . in terms of cost and quality as a whole. This is a great rum and one of the better ones I think there is in this price range. I like the 18 year a bit more, but it does cost something like $12 - $15 more for that one as well.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

I had a tasting of K&S a while back at a liquor store and thought it was pretty good, but I'm thinking now it must have been the 18 I tried, because this was simply not as good as I remember. This rum has a lot of good elements, but they just do not seem to work together very well, and the balance just isn't there. The oak over powers the other flavors, which gives way to a bitter finish, with a bit more alcohol burn than there needs to be in rum of this price point. Certainly not a bad rum, but not a great rum, especially considering it's price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by SaidWhatWhen from United States with 9 ratings

This rum just doesn't work for me. On the nose, there is a good bit of vanilla, oak, and a touch of honey. On the tongue however, it is a different story - hot, peppery, heavy alcohol, somewhat bitter. I want my evening dram to put a smile on my face, but this one makes me feel more like I have just been mugged (politely and professionally mind you, but still mugged). Goes great over my mom's homemade biscotti however.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tony from United States with 7 ratings

Very smooth, and on the dry side with subtle sweetness finish. Not my favorite, but I would purchase again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by tony k from Canada with 2 ratings

Smoooooth !!! one of my best affordable finds. down side, tastes so good id swear it evaporates every time i uncork it.wish i could buy a case. my favorite for sipping on soap stone rocks and listening to smooth jazz on vinyl. did i mention i love this rum!!!!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

This rum starts out very smooth, but builds over time. It has a very long middle, but doesn't linger too much at the end. Definitely has a bourbon vibe to it, likely due to the oak barrel aging for so long. Not spicy, but definitely has some vanilla and caramel notes. I wouldn't recommend this for a regular drink, but great for special occasions.