Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


314 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I purchased this for only $33.99 (K&L Wines 2015), so based on the price my expectations weren't that high. But this rum greatly exceeded my expectations!

It tastes like an agricole, albeit an exceptional one, and tastes at least as good as the far more expensive Clement XO (imho). It smells and tastes of sugar cane, caramel, vanilla, cookie dough, oak, honey, and molasses.

One of the best rum values in my opinion, this is a must try!

Edit: I've since tried the 18 and 23year Kirk & Sweeney, which are considerably better!

Posted about 9 hours ago by Mxt from United States with 2 ratings

Very smooth with vanilla and oak. Haven't seen a price point above $33 for this bottle. If you're expecting this to be on par with the best you'll be disappointed, but if they jacked the price to $60 I'd still be a customer. Well worth to keep it stocked.

Posted 3 days ago by alazzaro from United States with 3 ratings

Great rum at a fantastic price, one that I always want to have on my shelf

Posted 20 days ago by carl from United States with 20 ratings

This was just okay as a sipper, I ended up mixing it. It has a strong woody sweet smell and similar taste. Not my favorite.

Posted 24 days ago by djspark from Australia with 7 ratings

Balanced not too sweet, great rum (wanted the 23 yo but impossible to source).
My go to is Appleton 12yo

Posted about 1 month ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

I really enjoy the 23 yr old K&S and a friend bought me the 12 yr old to try. Great color and smell and first taste is packed with flavors of vanilla and caramel. But the harsh alcohol bites through to ruin the ending. Still not a bad run and will do in a pinch. Worth the price but it’s older cousin is much better.

Posted about 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Recently my friend and I sat down with Kirk & Sweeney, 12, 18 and 23 year olds. They are all terrific. I mean great. I wasn't too surprised to find I liked the 12 better than the 18 and almost as much as the 23. My friend agreed. Age doesn't always mean better. I learned this the hard way with Scotch There are 10 year olds that are far superior to 25 year olds. This lesson came at considerable personal expense. 25 year old single malt Scotch is NOT cheap! That is what makes K&S so remarkable. A rum this great for $30????? OUTSTANDING VALUE. The rum itself is smooth, robust and not too sweet. Vanilla, coffee, cinnamon and molasses. Extremely well balanced. Smooth as silk alcohol bite. Finish is shorter than the 18 and 23. Nose is not as enticing as the 23. I like it equally neat or on ice. But for this price it is amazing. It is a quality rum that I would pay more than twice as much for and rate the same if it did cost that. Great stuff!

Posted about 1 month ago by Paul from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Good vanilla and caramel but the hint of a hard edge to it. Not the smoothest to sip but great as a cocktail.

Posted about 2 months ago by Nathan French from United States with 20 ratings

Maybe. Less wood and more open on the palate. So fun to sip. The 18 makes you feel serious. The 12 makes you have fun.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Bon rhum de dégustation, à boire seul ou avec une glace un peu dispendieux.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Comfy smell, nothing disturbing, no alcoholic smell, fruity taste, quite nice.

Posted 2 months ago by Brt1982 from United States with 10 ratings

A solid 7 is where I put this one I enjoyed it with 2 cubes, got better as they melted a little good job of picking out the aroma in this one can definitely pick out the flavors.

Posted 2 months ago by nbouse13 from United States with 6 ratings

Beautiful color and surprisingly flavorful rum. First try of this was a rum flight that sincerely impressed me, so I bought a bottle to add to my home collection. Great for sipping.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Tasty, not so bad. .

Posted 3 months ago by cmpopp1 from United States with 12 ratings

So so smooth as a sipper. Smooth almost to the point of being too new. You’re better off with their other two offerings, and if you’ve tried them all I’m sure you’ll agree. If you’ve never tried it, but the ticket and take the ride. ps: I love the bottle design aesthetics

Posted 3 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

I found this rum in a pub not too far from me and was quite surprised to see it stocked there. The bar lady was even more surprised that i chose it and she didn't even know it was there. I ended up being the first one to order it as she opened the bottle for the first time! I found it to be fairly smooth and very easy to drink but was also very thin and not massively interesting. Definitely worth trying out though if you see it at a bar or pub.

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

nasládlá vůně vanilka, dřevo a ovoce, chuť jemná, nasládlá s vanilkou

Posted 3 months ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

I bought this one to see if it’s greater youth would be less “woody” in its taste. I see no great difference in color except perhaps less deep amber. Like it’s older cousin, vanilla meets, along complex fruit notes. On the tongue, vanilla and coffee and more vanilla and caramel in the back of the mouth. Cask finish may have included sherry casks? After trying several age-stated dark rums, I realize Solera rums are more to my liking, although this is a very nice sipping rum!

Posted 3 months ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 17 ratings

First the nose gave me a Vanilla and a slight alcohol. I’m also picking up
Creme brûlée’s, just a wonderful aroma. The legs are fantastic with droplets sticking to the sides of my glass and not moving. Swirl it and it’s like oil on the sides as the rum picks paths to streak back down the glass with droplets just stoping and staying in place. My first taste is Vanilla and a Creme Brûlée with a slight alcohol. I’m also picking up a soft tobacco, leather, oak and allspice. Very smooth and an aftertaste of a Smokey vanilla oak. 20 minutes in and there’s still drops sticking on the top of the glass from the initial pour. Put a tiny bit of water in and am now picking up some raisins on the nose with the Vanilla smell still bright. Water gave it more of a fruity flavor and the spices are sticking around. For 30 plus dollars, I don’t think this can be beat for a daily drinker. Will I mix it in coke? Probably not as it stands well on its own as a sipper neat.

Posted 3 months ago by Mbanford from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Phenomenal taste and smoothness! Only every received as a gift due to cost though worth every penny in my opinion.

Posted 4 months ago by tnoonan2013 from United States with 3 ratings

This rum is exactly what you want. The older ages are a bit over the top with smoke and wood while this one is just young enough that it shows the fruitiness in a nuanced way, some blackberries and darker fruits, light heat and just the best

Posted 4 months ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

This tastes like what a rich Puerto Rican cartel leader would drink while taking a bath in the blood of innocent

Posted 5 months ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

A very well balanced rum, with no real harshness to it when drinking it neat.

When mixed, it retains a characteristic flavour, when many rums become incredibly similar.

Posted 5 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 14 ratings

Beautiful color. Very good body. Smooth with a a little bite in the right place. Doesn’t get a ten, but so much better than a lot of others.

Posted 5 months ago by TheSkog from Canada with 2 ratings

I've got batch 23, and I have to say I am confused by all the good reviews. The nose is light, soft and lacks much in the way of character. Sure it is smooth, but there is very little taste. It is so lite that am thinking this would only be used as an.entry point for beginners, and certainly not for a serious sipper.
Certainly not worth th 80 dollars it cost in canada. Maybe 30 or 40, and dont bother mixing unless you prefer not to change the taste of.your coke. The taste is so thin it would absolutely disappear with mix.
I am told the older versions are a vast improvement.