Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10
370 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
8
47
89
121
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

370 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Vince11881 from United States with 26 ratings

A step above Zaya but not quite to the level of Zavala 23, this Caramel colored molasses rum is a true contender. Elegant and balanced, I thoroughly enjoy this rum

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

An exceptionally smooth sipper. I prefer with 1 ice cube. All flavors are subtle and nothing overwhelms. You'll pick up a hint of Oak/wood, Vanilla, Carmel, just a bit of spices. The bottle is beautiful and heavy! This is a tremendous rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

Easy to sip this on the rocks. I give it an 8+. For a while it was available at Costco a pretty good deal at $28. Have to shop elsewhere for it now.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

a refreshing change and alternative to zacapa 23. and where I live, less expensive than most quality premium rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

I enjoyed very much the K&S with a single ice cube. Very nice flavor profile and smooth with virtually no burn. I would buybthis again for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

Balance, poise, and grace no overwhelming flavors here. That is what this brings to the market and at a wonderful price for the experience. Are the 18 and 23 year better? Sure, but this is a gem that can easily be at home sipping for hours or mixing in a high end cocktail, excelling at both! Smooth and sweet with a long tail.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Steve from United States with 4 ratings

I bought this simply for the the bottle and to try a Dominican flavor. I agree with a strong aroma of vanilla, but I am not feeling the oak others do, a tiny bit of smoke but seems very light. Small bit of sweetness and finishes very smooth. At ~$30 it is a real bargain.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hari from United States with 11 ratings

Wow, this is the first rum that I have had that the first word I would say is tobacco. Very smokey and oaky. Very nice sipping rum on the rocks. I will look for this rum again!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

I was not expecting quality from anything unknown from Costco. Color me impressed. The overall profile was something like a smoother, most Zaya 12 yr. Some molasses up front, light oak middle, and a vanilla undertone. I'm definitely adding this to my short list.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by euzlpz from United States with 1 rating

Big oak...raw, uncut sugar...cocoa de maracaibo, roasted peanuts with a caramel glaze tossed in sea salt, heavily toasted coconut...vanilla, eggs, and nutmeg come together to form a creamy bread pudding. The understated nose leades to a more revealing palate with matching notes and undertones of fried plantains, key lime zest, blood orange juice, kumquats, black carrots, acacia honey and alfalfa sprouts. It does lack balance and is oak dominant, and attempts to make up for it (with marginal success) by offering a smorgasboard of high quality, nuanced flavors-- both complex and challenging to discern. Lovely finish of good length, light-- but not thin: fresh sugar cane (bottoms of the cut tops), clean rain water, sweet tangy raspberry, vanilla, dairy cream, mild golden tobacco with undertones of blueberries and strawberry rhubarb. Mouth feel is supple and creamy, juicy then tannic. Aged well, this rum is nicely mellowed by the oak-- having virtually no burn. Please note: this is a Dominican rum-- grown, distilled, and aged entirely in the Dominican Republic (those who know Dominican soil can attest!)...it is only BOTTLED in the USA... (sourced from Santiago de los Caballeros, D.R.). For under $35, I recommend to those looking for a rum that is heavy on charred oak imparts. My unbiased score is a 6...however I love heavily oaked rums, so my biased score is an 8! :D (I don't often give 9s or 10s).

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Sam from United States with 8 ratings

Lots of Vanilla