Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10(365 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
7
46
85
122
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

365 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

This was maybe my 2nd rum for sipping after Flora De Cana and what a stellar drink this is. Big vanilla followed by sweet and a little heat. This was my favourite until I tried Zafrans haha. But seriously I let this rum sit in a glass for a few hours before consumption because I think it taste far better that way.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Its the almost the same as the 18 which is almost the same as the 23. The difference is the tobacco leaf, oak, and vanilla tones become more faint with the 12 year. It also has more of a Rum Bite and more of an alcohol nose. Still, the 12 is a sweeter, more sugary rum so if you're looking for spice you won't find it here. The 12 is another win and a must try.

I use the 12 for company, the 18 for special friends, and the 23 for me!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mike from Canada with 28 ratings

Loved this rum from start to finish. Especially good with when paired with a cigar. A bit pricey but overall fair. Not very sweet or complex, but it's subtly is to be patiently appreciated. Probably only worth buying if you have a developed palate. Something I plan to restock always for my bar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Bill Wetmore from United States with 10 ratings

Drank this after enjoying z
Zaya Grand Reserve. More subtle and less sweet. The more I drank the more a appreciated those qualities.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 155 ratings

Dette er en lillebror til den 18 års og den ligner den egentlig meget.
Der er smagsnoter af vanilje og chokolade, men lig sin storebror syntes jeg den forsvinder for hurtigt i munden.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Car Birch from United States with 10 ratings

Definitely a sipping rum, but it won't disappoint for the price! It's smooth all the way around with plenty of flavors. Loves this rum quite a lot! Worth it to find a place on your shelf for it!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by barkeater from United States with 8 ratings

Nice amber color. Notes of vanilla on the nose. Smooth on the palate. A wonderful rum for sipping on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

but leaning more into the sugar realm. The sweetness hits me up front on the nose, caramel and toffee and right away on the tongue. Pared with a mandarin orange brought out a nice chocolate note. At times on its own I get a bubblegum flavor. Dries out in the finish when the alcohol takes over and lingers.
Hard to complain at this price point and a safe bet for the timid. Just not that interesting.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 94 ratings

Super belle bouteille et super bon goût. Un choix sûr.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nils from Switzerland with 13 ratings

This one is less sweet than most other rums I had, it tastes less like fruits/vanilla. Might be a good choice for those who like drier alcohols.
I like it, but it's not my first choice when I have three Plantation rums in my cabinet…

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Very good rum across the board, delicious, great nose, mouth, body and finish. Love the bottle and it is indeed a top shelf rum. If you like this rum, you will love the 23 which is easily twice shoot 3x as good.