Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10
373 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
8
47
90
123
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

373 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Edwg1967 from Canada with 12 ratings

Very nice rum. Smooth and refreshing with no burn. Hints of vanilla

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mrum from United States with 11 ratings

Doesn’t have much of a sugary taste.................

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

12yo - There I was at my local supermarket and thinking why oh why don't they ever have anything of interest. And then rather surprisingly I came across this chap. As I was standing in the aisle, I cracked out the mobile app and saw the very mixed reviews. But even so, I was curious. I knew about K&S but never got around to trying it.

Its at the upper limits of what I really like when it comes to sweetness (natural or at least, with only a small amount of sugar added), but it is all held together by the burn from the alcohol that had me checking whether this was actually at 40% as it has a harshness to it that I would expect from say 46%. However it pulls together the sweetness, the vanilla and the toasty American oak (I have to say I am a sucker for American oak ageing). Without the hit from the alcohol, I suspect that this wouldn't be dry enough for me.

Soft, even with the burn, multi-dimensional with a medium/long length. I can see why this divides opinions, but I find it initially quite appealing.

I read some reviews questioning whether they are drinking the same rum as everyone else - I do not know whether the label is a "fake" historic one to go with the story or whether when it states Batch 021 Bottle Nº 7915 that is the current batch, but that is how my bottle is so labelled.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

Very strong smells of vanilla, oak and toasted marsh mellow.
Very strong oak taste for only being 12 years old. I also taste tons of Vanilla and some mild spice.
Not bad but not on my top shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by Derek Harris from United States with 40 ratings

Just picking this bottle up, people are instantly impressed. It is a great drink on the rocks or for the casuals with some coke (lol). It is a great bottle and has some real heft to it. Def recommend.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Oft gelobt und das zu Recht. Wohlschmeckender ausgewogener Premiumrum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 56 ratings

Meh. This is a very smooth rum. The nose is sharp at first but mellows after a few minutes rest. Vanilla, spice and pepper.

Mouth feel is very soft, almost as if you have water in your mouth, then the burn starts, releasing the tingle of the spices.

Mildly sweet, but pleasantly so. Vanilla and pepper. Sip neat. Adding ice would make this un-drinkable

The finish is spice and a mellow burn that lingers a bit.

Overall, a bit disappointing for the price, but better than nothing. If given the option, I’d like pass and drink something else.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mxt from United States with 2 ratings

Very smooth with vanilla and oak. Haven't seen a price point above $33 for this bottle. If you're expecting this to be on par with the best you'll be disappointed, but if they jacked the price to $60 I'd still be a customer. Well worth to keep it stocked.

Small 26820

Posted over 1 year ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Proves bottle design is important with sales of spirits..

For the price, this should be called regret.

So many rums far better than this.

This tastes like a mild/ smooth whisky aged in a twice used Eldorado rum cask, then watered down to nope. There is a faint rum glimmer l, it, just turns into a bland meh. No real body or character. It is smoothish, and drinkable, but just so boring. Even mixed it just tastes... Meh. Cuba libre, just makes the coke taste funny. With ginger beer, it just makes the gingerbeer taste funny.

By no means is this terrible, but considering this was the same price as a bottle of rumbullion, don Papa, plantation, pussers. Hell, even a lot of cheaper rums are superior to this in flavour and finish. Disappointed don't rate, won't buy again. Not even close to being rum in my books, let along a good rum.

PS. I just noticed all the rave reviews. You guys are mad. I wouldn't even call this drink 'rum' in regards to flavour profile. Whoever keeps peddling their PR is either talking horse**** or has a lot of money.

I've gone from disappointed to just plain annoyed. Don't bother with this one. Move along.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

I’m Irish and from a navy town. I can down a bottle if rum in 2 hours if it’s good. This rum took me weeks to get through. Just burns without a reward. If you like cheap whiskey or lighter fluid you may like this rum

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Smooth and as distintive as diplomatico. A fine birthday present for me.