Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


315 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I've tried the 18 year also, which I also rate a 9, but I prefer the 12 by just a little. It's really tasty and a true pleasure to drink neat.

I like a good sipping rum that tastes like rum. Smooth, flavorful, with a modest bite to it. It's got to have a hint of sweetness to it, as that's what rum is all about. This one fits perfectly.

Posted almost 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

This rum has a great taste and no bad after taste or burn, Very smooth. The bottle is unique looking. The color is nice but the aroma is a little weak. Not quite as good as El Dorado 12 yr or Diplmatico Reserve but definitley worth the money.

Posted about 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

This is an above average rum, but nothing to go out of your way for. The bottle/presentation is great.

Posted about 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

The batch #15 (bottle 18505) I found incredibly dry with a full body with some oak but spice dominating. Nosing was dominated by spice mainly cinnamon and clove with underlying very light tones of vanilla. Easily Cuban in style but showing its Dominican Flare. The finish sticks around for a few moments where it does have some lingering fading light sweetness and very slight vanilla.

Posted about 5 years ago by jason from United States with 4 ratings

Like to sip this rum but makes the most amazing rum cake

Posted about 5 years ago by Stephan from Canada with 14 ratings

The liquor store had a tasting the other day and I gave it a try. Seems like my taste may differ of the mass. I don't know if it's the mix of flavors that is too complex or the oak casks and spice notes, but overall I did not enjoy it that much. It's not a bad rum but there are better choices out there for me. 7/10

Posted about 5 years ago by Benancio from United States with 1 rating

This is an amazing Rum, extremely smooth.

On the nose are banana and vanilla notes.

The pallet delivers the same, banana, vanilla, raisin, licorice, root beer, ice cream.

The finish is medium, nice mouth feel coats the entire mouth.

Nice sipper. Would go well in a cake.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 2 gpl. Was thinking of buying this just for the bottle but the liquor store had a tasting that day and I gave it a try. It is a bit woody at the first but then mellows out and sweetens a bit. Nice finish and a pleasing after burn. The bottle and the history of the name are interesting. I give this a 6.5 for the taste and another half point for the bottle.

Posted about 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

I really enjoy handling this one, love the super thick glass base. It is drier and less sweet, the wood/smoke in the flavor is very low key. Still working on what keeps me coming back over the presentation! The finish is smooth but didn't have a identifiable lingering after taste that I usually go for

Posted about 5 years ago by Erik Deckers from United States with 8 ratings

Although I'm new-ish to rum, I already know this is one of my favorites. Not too sweet, and a more "grownup" taste. This is for serious rum drinkers, not to be mixed with Coke or anything that might hide the taste.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Sweet and smokey, this aged rum has hints of oak and vanilla. This is a great sipping wine that could turn the biggest cognac enthusiast. One of my favorites.

Posted about 5 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

Zaya is my absolute go to when looking at a sipping rum. Sweet, smooth, caramel. Kirk and Sweeny is it's mature brother. The sweet caramel is still there, but muted in the background by the "adult" oaky maturity and oh my god the smoothness. This is a definite additional MUST in my cabinet.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

It's a great smooth rum. No burn & very enjoyable. I tried it neat, then tried it with a small ice cube. I much enjoyed the rum with the ice. It brought out more flavors and was much more enjoyable. It reminded me of Plantation XO. I would definitely buy it again. $35 amazing price point!

Posted over 5 years ago by deron from United States with 7 ratings

I really enjoy this rum. I've purchased this one a few times. Complex and tasty. Plus a cool bottle!

Posted over 5 years ago by cesar from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Au nez c subtil, comme beaucoup de rhum sa sent la vanille mais en aucun cas lalcool se qui est fort agreable, en bouche c ultra legger, volatile avec une extreme douceur qui laisse en fin de bouche une fraicheur avec un gout de polypode (reglisse tres subtile), il invite tres clairement a y retourner, il est a mon avis tres traitre si on en abuse lol belle decouverte.

Posted over 5 years ago by Greg from Switzerland with 1 rating

Très jolie bouteille qui incite à l'achat avant mm de savoir de quoi il en retourne...
Nez subtile, il m'a fait penser à l'Arcane extraroma.
Ne pas se fier à la première gorgée, qui annonce un rhum léger, très facile à boire, voir mm plat en fin de bouche...... Il tape fort!
Très bon rhum bien équilibré, après dégustation, il laisse une impression "rappeuse" en bouche.
La petite soeur est déjà en réserve... Ce rhum pousse au vice...

Posted over 5 years ago by TCR_PNW from United States with 2 ratings

Good mid range sipping rum at an excellent price point. Sweet, but not over so. Vanilla on the nose, vanilla on the pallet, vanilla on the finish. Not overly complex, but a great sipper that won't break the bank. After first opening, there was some initial saccharin bitterness on the finish that fades with time in the glass. After the bottle was open a couple weeks it faded completely. Initial tasting neat out of a Glencairn glass.

Posted over 5 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 33 ratings

Smooth, subtle flavor. Not going to knock you off your feet, but sits well on the tongue. Maybe too subtle to mix, but not so much that it's flavorless. Far from it. And as others have noticed, the bottle being so beautiful and classy just completes this as a great gift rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Poppy from United States with 7 ratings

One of the best rums i ever had. Smooth and easy. Got it as a present. Would probably not have bought it off shelf. Due to fancy schmancy packaging and rumrunner story. But alas i am now looking for a local vendor. Great stuff! Could be sold for twice as much as asking price. Highly recommend. Great to drink strait would be a shame to mix a drink with.

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

I recently came across this rum from recommendations on forums. So I had it on my Xmas list and lo and behold I had a bottle under the tree. The bottle being short and stout is a bit cumbersome to hold when compared to taller bottles. Oh, but it's what's inside that counts. Great color, good legs, smooth and flavorful with a hint of vanilla. I was a fan of Bacardi 8 but this Dominican has my vote.

Posted over 5 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

Picked it up for a reasonable price and haven't looked back yet. Strong but not too strong of a taste with hints of vanilla and oak...Haven't tried it in cola yet, something tells me it would be a waste to do so. But in a Orange/Banana juice mix it was superb,

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

First sipping rum I tried. Really like it, but have gravitated to the Plantation rums a bit more. Will be nice to go back to this one from time to time. Ah the first loves...

Posted almost 6 years ago by LiquidBrass from United States with 8 ratings

I originally bought this because I was intrigued by the bottle. I found the flavor a bit subtle for my tastes...hints of stones fruits, and an aftertaste that's understated. Perfectly drinkable special occasion stuff.

Posted about 6 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Found this little gem reviewed on Liquor.com last year. Found a bottle reasonably priced around $40 and snapped it up. Great on the rocks and mixed. Smooth, sweet and delicious. A great rum with notes of vanilla and clearly aged.

Posted over 6 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Great bottle to slide along the bar... low center of gravity, like an electric car. As for the rum, a little one note on the vanilla, a little medicinal. A real rum though, doesn't seem tampered with, although some feel the vanilla might be spiced in as an after thought. I want to believe the distillery is on the level. Certainly grows on you, would be good with fruit, maybe perfect for baba au rhum!* Nice clean buzz... *(A popular European lemon desert cake soaked in rum...)