Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (326 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
7
41
65
114
79
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


326 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

96e9bc451b80b665b4c1df57bbee2e8d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Soft with persistent flavors (sugar cane, molasses, vanilla, tobacco). Recommended !

C07365c264e4702a75d831ad5c46aac9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

It's difficult not to admire the beautiful and thoughtful packaging of this rum. But no stuffed shirt, this. To my taste, an exceptional balance of wood-aged flavors, both in the nose and the mouth. Just the proper suggestion of native rum sweetness, while supplying a tremendously smooth and buttery finish. A tremendous modern rum and, like the Plantation Barbados 5 Year, sporting an incredible price for this level of rum value.

1458634c9aa7fc951b8c2249c713e9fc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Mrum from United States with 11 ratings

Doesn’t have much of a sugary taste.................

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

....at my local supermarket and thinking why oh why don't they ever have anything of interest. And then rather surprisingly I came across this chap. As I was standing in the aisle, I cracked out the mobile app and saw the very mixed reviews. But even so, I was curious. I knew about K&S but never got around to trying it.

Its at the upper limits of what I really like when it comes to sweetness (natural or at least, with only a small amount of sugar added), but it is all held together by the burn from the alcohol that had me checking whether this was actually at 40% as it has a harshness to it that I would expect from say 46%. However it pulls together the sweetness, the vanilla and the toasty American oak (I have to say I am a sucker for American oak ageing). Without the hit from the alcohol, I suspect that this wouldn't be dry enough for me.

Soft, even with the burn, multi-dimensional with a medium/long length. I can see why this divides opinions, but I find it initially quite appealing.

I read some reviews questioning whether they are drinking the same rum as everyone else - I do not know whether the label is a "fake" historic one to go with the story or whether when it states Batch 021 Bottle Nº 7915 that is the current batch, but that is how my bottle is so labelled.

59730dd309c95ecc01a51c37e4d481b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Very strong smells of vanilla, oak and toasted marsh mellow.
Very strong oak taste for only being 12 years old. I also taste tons of Vanilla and some mild spice.
Not bad but not on my top shelf.

4b4f8759e329c8e22653f9999f51895a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Mxt from United States with 2 ratings

Very smooth with vanilla and oak. Haven't seen a price point above $33 for this bottle. If you're expecting this to be on par with the best you'll be disappointed, but if they jacked the price to $60 I'd still be a customer. Well worth to keep it stocked.

81f70782fd827ab1b001ae032335713d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 68 ratings

Proves bottle design is important with sales of spirits..

For the price, this should be called regret.

So many rums far better than this.

This tastes like a mild/ smooth whisky aged in a twice used Eldorado rum cask, then watered down to nope. There is a faint rum glimmer l, it, just turns into a bland meh. No real body or character. It is smoothish, and drinkable, but just so boring. Even mixed it just tastes... Meh. Cuba libre, just makes the coke taste funny. With ginger beer, it just makes the gingerbeer taste funny.

By no means is this terrible, but considering this was the same price as a bottle of rumbullion, don Papa, plantation, pussers. Hell, even a lot of cheaper rums are superior to this in flavour and finish. Disappointed don't rate, won't buy again. Not even close to being rum in my books, let along a good rum.

PS. I just noticed all the rave reviews. You guys are mad. I wouldn't even call this drink 'rum' in regards to flavour profile. Whoever keeps peddling their PR is either talking horse**** or has a lot of money.

I've gone from disappointed to just plain annoyed. Don't bother with this one. Move along.

930906d9c2d0c4cd57886b879bd99f71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

I’m Irish and from a navy town. I can down a bottle if rum in 2 hours if it’s good. This rum took me weeks to get through. Just burns without a reward. If you like cheap whiskey or lighter fluid you may like this rum

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Smooth and as distintive as diplomatico. A fine birthday present for me.

Bc364686863eec42fdc3dc240923ecdb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mike Colligon from United States with 9 ratings

Wonderful caramel color with a warm smooth delivery that resonates with spices. A true delight on the palate with a warm finish.

6370b8944982039a52e5fddb492629f5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

N - Hazelnut, Dark Chocolate, Coffee. Somewhat musty. With time, you get some light caramel and coconut, but the alcohol also seems to become more prominent.
P - Lots of caramel, faint honey and creme.
F - Campfire smoke that slowly morphs into a pleasant vanilla.
Nothing crazy or out there, but carries some nice complexity and has a bit of its own personal character and sips easy. Also, like a lot of people say, this rum could easily be sold for much more. It checks all the boxes nicely!