Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (339 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
8
41
72
118
80
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


339 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

The bottle is gorgeous so that is a really nice feature. Popping the cork it smells like that bold rum I like. Not magical smelling, alcohol, oak,vanilla. Pretty usual stuff. Yeah you definitely have to let this one breath for like 20 minutes. If you don't it clashes all together and really isn't that good at all. The smokey taste really stands out like no other rum that I can think of. Very very dry and not very sweet. Vanilla oak taste with not too much complexity, its unique in the fact its not traditionally sweet like most rums now a day. If you like flor de cana rums this is a step up from them. This rum really isn't my style so I cant rate it as good by my standards but for its style it does do a good job. This would be an excellent cigar rum if I smoked.

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

It's difficult not to admire the beautiful and thoughtful packaging of this rum. But no stuffed shirt, this. To my taste, an exceptional balance of wood-aged flavors, both in the nose and the mouth. Just the proper suggestion of native rum sweetness, while supplying a tremendously smooth and buttery finish. A tremendous modern rum and, like the Plantation Barbados 5 Year, sporting an incredible price for this level of rum value.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Mrum from United States with 11 ratings

Doesn’t have much of a sugary taste.................

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

12yo - There I was at my local supermarket and thinking why oh why don't they ever have anything of interest. And then rather surprisingly I came across this chap. As I was standing in the aisle, I cracked out the mobile app and saw the very mixed reviews. But even so, I was curious. I knew about K&S but never got around to trying it.

Its at the upper limits of what I really like when it comes to sweetness (natural or at least, with only a small amount of sugar added), but it is all held together by the burn from the alcohol that had me checking whether this was actually at 40% as it has a harshness to it that I would expect from say 46%. However it pulls together the sweetness, the vanilla and the toasty American oak (I have to say I am a sucker for American oak ageing). Without the hit from the alcohol, I suspect that this wouldn't be dry enough for me.

Soft, even with the burn, multi-dimensional with a medium/long length. I can see why this divides opinions, but I find it initially quite appealing.

I read some reviews questioning whether they are drinking the same rum as everyone else - I do not know whether the label is a "fake" historic one to go with the story or whether when it states Batch 021 Bottle Nº 7915 that is the current batch, but that is how my bottle is so labelled.

7.5/10

===========

12 Reserva - just opened this to compare with the last of my 12yo. It is totally different and a real step backwards. Gone is the unctuous rich caramely nose, to be replaced by one which is more astringent with hints of what reminds me of oranges. It is similar on the body. Very disappointing and a rum that I'll likely not be buying again. Disappointing.

5/10

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

Very strong smells of vanilla, oak and toasted marsh mellow.
Very strong oak taste for only being 12 years old. I also taste tons of Vanilla and some mild spice.
Not bad but not on my top shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Oft gelobt und das zu Recht. Wohlschmeckender ausgewogener Premiumrum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 36 ratings

Meh. This is a very smooth rum. The nose is sharp at first but mellows after a few minutes rest. Vanilla, spice and pepper.

Mouth feel is very soft, almost as if you have water in your mouth, then the burn starts, releasing the tingle of the spices.

Mildly sweet, but pleasantly so. Vanilla and pepper. Sip neat. Adding ice would make this un-drinkable

The finish is spice and a mellow burn that lingers a bit.

Overall, a bit disappointing for the price, but better than nothing. If given the option, I’d like pass and drink something else.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mxt from United States with 2 ratings

Very smooth with vanilla and oak. Haven't seen a price point above $33 for this bottle. If you're expecting this to be on par with the best you'll be disappointed, but if they jacked the price to $60 I'd still be a customer. Well worth to keep it stocked.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 69 ratings

Proves bottle design is important with sales of spirits..

For the price, this should be called regret.

So many rums far better than this.

This tastes like a mild/ smooth whisky aged in a twice used Eldorado rum cask, then watered down to nope. There is a faint rum glimmer l, it, just turns into a bland meh. No real body or character. It is smoothish, and drinkable, but just so boring. Even mixed it just tastes... Meh. Cuba libre, just makes the coke taste funny. With ginger beer, it just makes the gingerbeer taste funny.

By no means is this terrible, but considering this was the same price as a bottle of rumbullion, don Papa, plantation, pussers. Hell, even a lot of cheaper rums are superior to this in flavour and finish. Disappointed don't rate, won't buy again. Not even close to being rum in my books, let along a good rum.

PS. I just noticed all the rave reviews. You guys are mad. I wouldn't even call this drink 'rum' in regards to flavour profile. Whoever keeps peddling their PR is either talking horse**** or has a lot of money.

I've gone from disappointed to just plain annoyed. Don't bother with this one. Move along.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

I’m Irish and from a navy town. I can down a bottle if rum in 2 hours if it’s good. This rum took me weeks to get through. Just burns without a reward. If you like cheap whiskey or lighter fluid you may like this rum

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Smooth and as distintive as diplomatico. A fine birthday present for me.