Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


315 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I've tried the 18 year also, which I also rate a 9, but I prefer the 12 by just a little. It's really tasty and a true pleasure to drink neat.

I like a good sipping rum that tastes like rum. Smooth, flavorful, with a modest bite to it. It's got to have a hint of sweetness to it, as that's what rum is all about. This one fits perfectly.

Posted 7 days ago by Mxt from United States with 2 ratings

Very smooth with vanilla and oak. Haven't seen a price point above $33 for this bottle. If you're expecting this to be on par with the best you'll be disappointed, but if they jacked the price to $60 I'd still be a customer. Well worth to keep it stocked.

Posted about 1 month ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Proves bottle design is important with sales of spirits..

For the price, this should be called regret.

So many rums far better than this.

This tastes like a mild/ smooth whisky aged in a twice used Eldorado rum cask, then watered down to nope. There is a faint rum glimmer l, it, just turns into a bland meh. No real body or character. It is smoothish, and drinkable, but just so boring. Even mixed it just tastes... Meh. Cuba libre, just makes the coke taste funny. With ginger beer, it just makes the gingerbeer taste funny.

By no means is this terrible, but considering this was the same price as a bottle of rumbullion, don Papa, plantation, pussers. Hell, even a lot of cheaper rums are superior to this in flavour and finish. Disappointed don't rate, won't buy again. Not even close to being rum in my books, let along a good rum.

PS. I just noticed all the rave reviews. You guys are mad. I wouldn't even call this drink 'rum' in regards to flavour profile. Whoever keeps peddling their PR is either talking horse**** or has a lot of money.

I've gone from disappointed to just plain annoyed. Don't bother with this one. Move along.

Posted 12 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

I’m Irish and from a navy town. I can down a bottle if rum in 2 hours if it’s good. This rum took me weeks to get through. Just burns without a reward. If you like cheap whiskey or lighter fluid you may like this rum

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Smooth and as distintive as diplomatico. A fine birthday present for me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mike Colligon from United States with 7 ratings

Wonderful caramel color with a warm smooth delivery that resonates with spices. A true delight on the palate with a warm finish.

Posted about 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

N - Hazelnut, Dark Chocolate, Coffee. Somewhat musty. With time, you get some light caramel and coconut, but the alcohol also seems to become more prominent.
P - Lots of caramel, faint honey and creme.
F - Campfire smoke that slowly morphs into a pleasant vanilla.
Nothing crazy or out there, but carries some nice complexity and has a bit of its own personal character and sips easy. Also, like a lot of people say, this rum could easily be sold for much more. It checks all the boxes nicely!

Posted about 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

I wanted to like it more, but did not. On par with the Botran Reserva. No enjoyable aftertaste. Not a bad one. Just not a good one. Meh.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Schöne Flasche und gute Aufmachung.
Wirkt sehr leicht in der Nase und Gaumen
Früchte, Toffee, Vanille, Karamell.
Abgang ein wenig kurz.
Ein ganz netter Sommerrum

Beautiful bottle and good presentation.
Very light in the nose and palate
Fruits, toffee, vanilla, caramel.
Finish a little short.
A very nice summerrum

Posted over 3 years ago by Fred Ramey from United States with 28 ratings

. . . in terms of cost and quality as a whole. This is a great rum and one of the better ones I think there is in this price range. I like the 18 year a bit more, but it does cost something like $12 - $15 more for that one as well.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

I had a tasting of K&S a while back at a liquor store and thought it was pretty good, but I'm thinking now it must have been the 18 I tried, because this was simply not as good as I remember. This rum has a lot of good elements, but they just do not seem to work together very well, and the balance just isn't there. The oak over powers the other flavors, which gives way to a bitter finish, with a bit more alcohol burn than there needs to be in rum of this price point. Certainly not a bad rum, but not a great rum, especially considering it's price.

Posted over 3 years ago by SaidWhatWhen from United States with 9 ratings

This rum just doesn't work for me. On the nose, there is a good bit of vanilla, oak, and a touch of honey. On the tongue however, it is a different story - hot, peppery, heavy alcohol, somewhat bitter. I want my evening dram to put a smile on my face, but this one makes me feel more like I have just been mugged (politely and professionally mind you, but still mugged). Goes great over my mom's homemade biscotti however.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tony from United States with 7 ratings

Very smooth, and on the dry side with subtle sweetness finish. Not my favorite, but I would purchase again.

Posted about 4 years ago by tony k from Canada with 2 ratings

Smoooooth !!! one of my best affordable finds. down side, tastes so good id swear it evaporates every time i uncork it.wish i could buy a case. my favorite for sipping on soap stone rocks and listening to smooth jazz on vinyl. did i mention i love this rum!!!!!

Posted about 4 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

This rum starts out very smooth, but builds over time. It has a very long middle, but doesn't linger too much at the end. Definitely has a bourbon vibe to it, likely due to the oak barrel aging for so long. Not spicy, but definitely has some vanilla and caramel notes. I wouldn't recommend this for a regular drink, but great for special occasions.

Posted about 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

I have been waiting to purchase this rum for some time so when my neighbour arrived with a new bottle in hand, ba-bam! Very good rum. Light but with good flavours, vanilla, honey with only a touch of oak. I don't like a rum that appears to be in the barrel too long for the sake of "aging the label" to increase the price, but this rum was spot on. I recommend buying this rum, or at least mooching it off your neighbour.

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

I got on to sipping rums after visiting a distillery in Nassau. This is one of the first I tried. Surprisingly, my wife acquired the habit too after trying this rum.

There is a very strong aroma of vanilla in this rum. It have since tried the K & S 18 and it has an even stronger scent The rum is smooth and you have a hint of vanilla in the taste. Very good sipper with slightly more alcohol burn than the 18 year..

I drink it on the rocks with with one ice cube.

Posted about 4 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

I did rank this rum as 10 because I think it surpassed the El Dorado 21 which I ranked as a 9. A 9.5 would have been my choice but not sure how to enter it as such on Rum Ratings. Thus was the first top shelf (at least based on price) I ever purchased. It was money well spent and still makes for the best sipping rum I have tried to date. Would love to try one I'd rate better.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Maybe it's me...but I detected very little aroma, either from the bottle or glass, and very little flavor when I tasted it. Two good-sized pourings later, and I'm still waiting to taste some rum. There are hints of vanilla and oak - pretty standard stuff these days - but nothing remarkable. Smooth is one thing, but this stuff is practically invisible. A good "practice" rum for newbies. I paid $22 for the bottle (which itself is obnoxiously squat and awkward to hold). All in all, not my favorite by a long shot.

Posted over 4 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

This rum ist not for you if you like the sweeter kinds of rum. It ist actually pretty 'dry'. A lot of oak, a bit of toffe, a little bit mor of coffee. A very fine and subtle aftertaste. Not much in the nose, though, wich makes it lose one point.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Pleasant taste but oak dominates the profile too much in my opinion. Hard to get a feel for the original distillate.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

The bottle is gorgeous so that is a really nice feature. Popping the cork it smells like that bold rum I like. Not magical smelling, alcohol, oak,vanilla. Pretty usual stuff. Yeah you definitely have to let this one breath for like 20 minutes. If you don't it clashes all together and really isn't that good at all. The smokey taste really stands out like no other rum that I can think of. Very very dry and not very sweet. Vanilla oak taste with not too much complexity, its unique in the fact its not traditionally sweet like most rums now a day. If you like flor de cana rums this is a step up from them. This rum really isn't my style so I cant rate it as good by my standards but for its style it does do a good job. This would be an excellent cigar rum if I smoked.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

This is a fantastic rum for when you're in the mood from something less sweet than Ron Zacapa 23 or much less sweet than Diplomatico Reserve. It wonderfully preserves all the richness of its cane heritage with great carmel rum depth and nuance along with a slowly fading finish that makes you long for another sip.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

Absolutely delicious - recommend leaving it for 20 minutes to really open up.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Nice balance of flavors. Picking up vanilla and oak. Wonderful silky mouthfeel.