Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (327 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
7
41
66
114
79
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Dcadd9bd7acdee9079427f2bc94daae1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

but leaning more into the sugar realm. The sweetness hits me up front on the nose, caramel and toffee and right away on the tongue. Pared with a mandarin orange brought out a nice chocolate note. At times on its own I get a bubblegum flavor. Dries out in the finish when the alcohol takes over and lingers.
Hard to complain at this price point and a safe bet for the timid. Just not that interesting.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I'm not one who normally drinks rum straight but the Kirk and Sweeney 12 year rum is so smooth that it actually might be one I could enjoy neat. However I use it as is my norm in Coke Zero and it blends amazingly well (3oz in a 16.9oz Coke Zero). In fact it actually makes the Coke Zero taste better IMHO. I recently found the K&S 23 year rum and will try it soon comparing it to the 12 year to see if I (a rather rum-uneducated fellow) can detect any discernible differences. However based upon how good the 12 year it, I expect the 23 year rum to be, at least, equally as good. Perhaps better. We shall see.

BTW, the bottle is rather unique in that how thick and heavy the glass is. Almost too nice to recycle once the rum is gone. Any suggestions on a re-use for the K&S bottle?

5e64506f7724a51793b41f252279892c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

I'm not sure why everyone likes this so much? Maybe I should give it another go, but I wasn't impressed.

D27b1eaa8194ada4ed7ba4e993abd454.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by JAStark from United States with 11 ratings

This is rum is what bourbon dreams about. Great alone on ice. I made a Manhattan out of it just for S&G and it was grand. I called it a Kingston Manhattan. Try one.

Bc216938f4fd16ea632366898103e92b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Very smooth. Rosewater and sugar notes. Very little wood.

Probably the best looking bottle on my shelf too.

63ff5364821695cfa79033aee488c801.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Catmandu from United States with 15 ratings

I want to invest in this company! This rum could come in a bag and It would still shine. This is definitely one of my current top three. Big body, still smooth, with a long vanilla finish.

8fd9a10638a040df836aa6490ebfebf5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Justin Dunlap from United States with 3 ratings

got a bottle for my birthday. As soon as I popped the cork I knew it was gonna be good. It is Very smooth. This bottle won't last long.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Very (too?)smooth, a little sweet, and a nice finish. Somewhat base and it does not stand up to mixing. My thoughts have soured as time goes by.
edited to add sugar test results- 4g

7c872109ad49fcded011f6ea2619b0f0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

After what seemed like an eternity, I had the great pleasure to finally get my hands on a bottle of Kirk & Sweeney. Packaging alone suggests it's gonna be nice. Right from the pop of the cork my nose was flooded with the aroma of tropical fruit, sweet treacle, a little wood and just a hint of butterscotch. Finishing with a decent amount of smoke. Oh yeah! This is gonna be lovely.

24406e2e562c4dbd314b093925f8a49b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Jerry M from United States with 2 ratings

Took a bottle of this to my buddy's occasional rum "marketing" night. He is much more well versed in rum than I, but he had never had the Kirk. I like it because it's so smooth, not as sweet as some, but with a little not of honey and not much wood flavor. Just right with a small chunk of ice. Will continue to have it in my reserve area.

4e558988726c067699bcac1506394fcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jim from United States with 10 ratings

I am always in search of the perfect Rum to go with a cigar. The Kirk & Sweeney is my go to and the best I have tried. The price point makes it a consistent option! I like to pour it over a large ice cube and sip!