Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10(366 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
7
46
86
122
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

366 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

A delicious sipper, wonderfully complex yet smooth and not overly sweet. A fantastic value for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Kandované ovoce, cedr, včelí plástve, medová sladkost, broušená kůže. (84 b)
Chuť: Oproti vůni je na jazyku vcelku suchý, hřebíček, cedrové dřevo, v dochuti pak i mírná hořčinka. (80 b)
Body: 82/100
Shrnutí: Mám lahev a nejsem z ní kdoví jak nadšený, na mě už dost suchý, osmnáctiletá verze byla výrazně lepší.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Nice especially in a old fashioned but it does remind me of bourbon anyway with lost of wood spiciness but didn’t get much sweetness from it. Wasn’t wowed by it

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by asloper6001 from United States with 9 ratings

Awesome rum for the price. Definitely want some more.

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 9 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 28 ratings

I prepared myself not to like this rum. I was pleasantly surprised when I received it as a gift and enjoyed with a large ice cube. This very quaffable rum has spicy notes up front, but mellows into vanilla and toffee on the back. I really like it. Looking forward to trying the older varieties.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by kirkydu (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

I bought 2 bottles of Kirk and Sweeney a few weeks ago when I saw at the upscale grocer on discount. A bottle of the 12 year ($29) and a bottle of the 23 year ($35). This 12 year decants well in about 10-20 minutes. You will get a strong and flavorful aroma. One tasting was neat. Neat is smooth, but not super smooth and it has a firm burn - not as strong as many others though. The flavors do make you want more (or maybe I like to drink), vanilla, honey, a little oak, a hint of cocoa and berries. I tried again with an big ice cube. Better as I like the dilution. Again with an ice cube and a lime wedge. Decent mix, but not an ideal match. Finally, decanted with a pinch of organic Sugar in the Raw and added an ice cube. That's the ticket.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Joey7415963 from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

For the flavour I'd rate it around a 7, but when price and presentation are factored in it has to have an 8. One thing I'm not so fond of is really sweet rums with little burn, so if you're after a good, strong flavour for a good price I highly recommend this!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

Great rum at a fantastic price, one that I always want to have on my shelf

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by carl from United States with 51 ratings

This was just okay as a sipper, I ended up mixing it. It has a strong woody sweet smell and similar taste. Not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by djspark from Australia with 7 ratings

Balanced not too sweet, great rum (wanted the 23 yo but impossible to source).
My go to is Appleton 12yo

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by James from United States with 21 ratings

I really enjoy the 23 yr old K&S and a friend bought me the 12 yr old to try. Great color and smell and first taste is packed with flavors of vanilla and caramel. But the harsh alcohol bites through to ruin the ending. Still not a bad run and will do in a pinch. Worth the price but it’s older cousin is much better.