Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (327 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
7
41
66
114
79
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Dcadd9bd7acdee9079427f2bc94daae1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

but leaning more into the sugar realm. The sweetness hits me up front on the nose, caramel and toffee and right away on the tongue. Pared with a mandarin orange brought out a nice chocolate note. At times on its own I get a bubblegum flavor. Dries out in the finish when the alcohol takes over and lingers.
Hard to complain at this price point and a safe bet for the timid. Just not that interesting.

F184adf1f043b5e785c06164cc2265f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Kuinn from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth. one of my favorites. Excellent for the price point.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 166 ratings

Very nice bottle, great presentation.
It's unique, this old cellar taste was only so pronounced in the 12 year old.
That's why it's my favorite of all Kirk & Sweeneys.
Smell: impression of books from an old cellar, can also be benevolently described as wood with apricots. A hint of vanilla, a bit of caramel, red fruits.
Taste: fruit (apricot), cocoa, some vanilla, oak/barrel, burned suggar, again the old cellar in the finish. Remains pleasantly fruity in the mouth (sherry).

A good rum for 12 years if the flavors please. I think 35 € is appropriate.

Dfca2742420f114131ce29d065d596ca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by abel4us from United States with 7 ratings

Color -
Aroma -
Flavor -
Finish -
Mouthfeel -
Balance -

47a41333812d487efa9175b357d09636.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

If I were going to rank the three K&S's I've tried, it'd go 23, 18, and 12. 12 is definitely the worst of the three for me.

But that isn't saying much, because it's honestly still really good, which just goes to show the quality of what Kirk & Sweeney puts out.

To be honest, when I first tried this, I expected it to be a high-quality mixer, but only a middling-to-decent sipper. I was wrong. What makes it my least favorite of the three is the fact that it's harsher than the other two. As always, age mellows an alcohol out, and Kirk & Sweeney rums are no exception.

What elevates this one is that the vanilla is oddly more pronounced, at least to my palate. I would absolutely call this a vanilla bomb, which is something I very much enjoy. And yet, like the other two, this has either very little or no additives. So, like the other two, I highly recommend it.

B28bc46c5d5b42b994d031fa2c75064d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 5 ratings

This is a good intro rum for those who have not drank rum neat before. It is light, slightly sweet and heavy on vanilla on the nose and the palate. Some oakiness is present as well. Maybe a hint of apricot? Everything about this rum is pleasant. I give it only 8 because it is missing a kick or some body. Something to make it more memorable. Maybe the 18 and 23 will have that little something the 12 is missing?

7a55066bea411887851077c151b7bce2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Clconetta from United States with 1 rating

Smooth, vanilla and carmel. I am always buying new rums & rhums to try but I always keep a bottle of this on hand.

93635c301122dda53575950dc2ebb79e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

A really nice smooth rum with a delicious hint of vanilla. Liked this more than I thought I would

00107cd28bd4b2605c934969b924b1d7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

6 /10 seems a little stingy but its my rating against many others. cool looking bottle, corked and nice colour. much promise but not what I expected. All good but flavour swings off towards the leathery cigar type Cuban rums. I tried it all ways but enjoyed the neat mostly. I have barely any sense of smell so cant offer a view. Ill finish the bottle but wont rush out to buy another soon

D04f14d4d2410eadbc6aadf11c79e2a0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 34 ratings

Dry. Very dry. Really nice.

Sainsbury’s had it for £28 too. Good do all round.

0af469abfd954e7cd9a81132dc65713f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Smovens from United States with 91 ratings

This is essentially a worse version of diplomatico. Extremely sweetened, but some nice flavors in there