Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10 (352 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
7
7
44
79
119
81
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

I'm not sure why everyone likes this so much? Maybe I should give it another go, but I wasn't impressed.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by kirkydu (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

I bought 2 bottles of Kirk and Sweeney a few weeks ago when I saw at the upscale grocer on discount. A bottle of the 12 year ($29) and a bottle of the 23 year ($35). This 12 year decants well in about 10-20 minutes. You will get a strong and flavorful aroma. One tasting was neat. Neat is smooth, but not super smooth and it has a firm burn - not as strong as many others though. The flavors do make you want more (or maybe I like to drink), vanilla, honey, a little oak, a hint of cocoa and berries. I tried again with an big ice cube. Better as I like the dilution. Again with an ice cube and a lime wedge. Decent mix, but not an ideal match. Finally, decanted with a pinch of organic Sugar in the Raw and added an ice cube. That's the ticket.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Joey7415963 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

For the flavour I'd rate it around a 7, but when price and presentation are factored in it has to have an 8. One thing I'm not so fond of is really sweet rums with little burn, so if you're after a good, strong flavour for a good price I highly recommend this!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

Great rum at a fantastic price, one that I always want to have on my shelf

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by carl from United States with 46 ratings

This was just okay as a sipper, I ended up mixing it. It has a strong woody sweet smell and similar taste. Not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by djspark from Australia with 7 ratings

Balanced not too sweet, great rum (wanted the 23 yo but impossible to source).
My go to is Appleton 12yo

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

I really enjoy the 23 yr old K&S and a friend bought me the 12 yr old to try. Great color and smell and first taste is packed with flavors of vanilla and caramel. But the harsh alcohol bites through to ruin the ending. Still not a bad run and will do in a pinch. Worth the price but it’s older cousin is much better.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 167 ratings

Recently my friend and I sat down with Kirk & Sweeney, 12, 18 and 23 year olds. They are all terrific. I mean great. I wasn't too surprised to find I liked the 12 better than the 18 and almost as much as the 23. My friend agreed. Age doesn't always mean better. I learned this the hard way with Scotch There are 10 year olds that are far superior to 25 year olds. This lesson came at considerable personal expense. 25 year old single malt Scotch is NOT cheap! That is what makes K&S so remarkable. A rum this great for $30????? OUTSTANDING VALUE. The rum itself is smooth, robust and not too sweet. Vanilla, coffee, cinnamon and molasses. Extremely well balanced. Smooth as silk alcohol bite. Finish is shorter than the 18 and 23. Nose is not as enticing as the 23. I like it equally neat or on ice. But for this price it is amazing. It is a quality rum that I would pay more than twice as much for and rate the same if it did cost that. Great stuff!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Paul from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Good vanilla and caramel but the hint of a hard edge to it. Not the smoothest to sip but great as a cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Nathan French from United States with 20 ratings

Maybe. Less wood and more open on the palate. So fun to sip. The 18 makes you feel serious. The 12 makes you have fun.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 148 ratings

Bon rhum de dégustation, à boire seul ou avec une glace un peu dispendieux.