Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10
373 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
9
47
89
123
82
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

373 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

A smooth, easy drinking rum at a great price. Also a good entry level rum given the nose and mouth feel at the low price point. Will always have around!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by iedalgic from United States with 2 ratings

Huge disappointment, and better choices out there for the price. Very strong taste and smell of vanilla, so much so that I wonder if this is artificially flavored - like dumping a small bottle of vanilla essence into a bland rum. I can't believe that much vanilla can develop naturally from aging in a barrel, with pretty much no other flavors developing at the same time.
Not much else apart from the vanilla taste and smell. The only positive is that it doesn't have too much burn. Useless as a mixer too, because the smell of vanilla is overpowering.

Small img 20200524 104415

Posted 10 months ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 80 ratings

Quite fine, bit vanilla and oaks barrel wooden taste, not as the older buddy of this family, but well all right for private sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

Great in a tiki drink and tasty to sip on. Will have to review it more in depth after more analysis.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 10 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 112 ratings

This is my third example of K&S. 18yo, 23yo and now 12. They are in perfect proportion of taste per age. I'm just wondering what is the price per age of everyone?
64/12=5.33$
90/18=5
104/23=4.5
So, the taste/$ is the best for the grandfather )
Anyway, all of them are highly recommended!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by pawallen from Canada with 9 ratings

There is to much burn and not good flavour, it very basic. Would not recommend

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Caverns from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

I bought this from a local store, mostly out of excitement that there was finally something different. Looks nice, tastes fine, overpriced in relation to similar quality rum.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

But I have enjoyed a few daiquiris with this at a local favorite spot, lounging under live oaks.
I can’t speak to it on its own, but with that simple & classic bit of mixing, it’s provided me with some pleasant memories

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

This rum has a great smell when first opening it. After first taste theres a lot going on, but its not horrible, not harsh, and not funky. But there is a lot of flavors happening. I could taste a bit of oak, and maybe a hint of vanilla. Tastes fresh and clean with a smooth finish.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by forgetmenotfishing from United States with 7 ratings

The 12 gives you hints of vanilla & toffee with a heavy Clove finish that is slightly bitter and very dry. Definitely Not a sweet rum. Has a slight burn to it. As a rock melts and it airs out, it definitely mellows out, but still leaves the back of your throat with a heavy warming sensation. I’ve had better and had worst. Just another mid grade rum that’s about $5 overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by evets0452 from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

A nice tasting rum with plenty of flavour. A bit on the sweet side, so those who prefer less sweet tasting rums will probably not like this as much but I realy enjoy it. Worth the 8 stars for sure.