Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


321 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

96e9bc451b80b665b4c1df57bbee2e8d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Soft with persistent flavors (sugar cane, molasses, vanilla, tobacco). Recommended !

D94b95f31a992fd0b46ed0ee08de0053.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

This tastes like what a rich Puerto Rican cartel leader would drink while taking a bath in the blood of innocent

3ef01d6656022d5c920fd0b5825fe8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 36 ratings

A very well balanced rum, with no real harshness to it when drinking it neat.

When mixed, it retains a characteristic flavour, when many rums become incredibly similar.

C8146204fae08df8b133a550941f1e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 14 ratings

Beautiful color. Very good body. Smooth with a a little bite in the right place. Doesn’t get a ten, but so much better than a lot of others.

64686b2f3599798a81595d3065be46b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by TheSkog from Canada with 2 ratings

I've got batch 23, and I have to say I am confused by all the good reviews. The nose is light, soft and lacks much in the way of character. Sure it is smooth, but there is very little taste. It is so lite that am thinking this would only be used as an.entry point for beginners, and certainly not for a serious sipper.
Certainly not worth th 80 dollars it cost in canada. Maybe 30 or 40, and dont bother mixing unless you prefer not to change the taste of.your coke. The taste is so thin it would absolutely disappear with mix.
I am told the older versions are a vast improvement.

F184adf1f043b5e785c06164cc2265f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Kuinn from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth. one of my favorites. Excellent for the price point.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 155 ratings

Very nice bottle, great presentation.
It's unique, this old cellar taste was only so pronounced in the 12 year old.
That's why it's my favorite of all Kirk & Sweeneys.
Smell: impression of books from an old cellar, can also be benevolently described as wood with apricots. A hint of vanilla, a bit of caramel, red fruits.
Taste: fruit (apricot), cocoa, some vanilla, oak/barrel, burned suggar, again the old cellar in the finish. Remains pleasantly fruity in the mouth (sherry).

A good rum for 12 years if the flavors please. I think 35 € is appropriate.

Dfca2742420f114131ce29d065d596ca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by abel4us from United States with 7 ratings

Color -
Aroma -
Flavor -
Finish -
Mouthfeel -
Balance -

47a41333812d487efa9175b357d09636.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

If I were going to rank the three K&S's I've tried, it'd go 23, 18, and 12. 12 is definitely the worst of the three for me.

But that isn't saying much, because it's honestly still really good, which just goes to show the quality of what Kirk & Sweeney puts out.

To be honest, when I first tried this, I expected it to be a high-quality mixer, but only a middling-to-decent sipper. I was wrong. What makes it my least favorite of the three is the fact that it's harsher than the other two. As always, age mellows an alcohol out, and Kirk & Sweeney rums are no exception.

What elevates this one is that the vanilla is oddly more pronounced, at least to my palate. I would absolutely call this a vanilla bomb, which is something I very much enjoy. And yet, like the other two, this has either very little or no additives. So, like the other two, I highly recommend it.

B28bc46c5d5b42b994d031fa2c75064d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 4 ratings

This is a good intro rum for those who have not drank rum neat before. It is light, slightly sweet and heavy on vanilla on the nose and the palate. Some oakiness is present as well. Maybe a hint of apricot? Everything about this rum is pleasant. I give it only 8 because it is missing a kick or some body. Something to make it more memorable. Maybe the 18 and 23 will have that little something the 12 is missing?

7a55066bea411887851077c151b7bce2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Clconetta from United States with 1 rating

Smooth, vanilla and carmel. I am always buying new rums & rhums to try but I always keep a bottle of this on hand.