Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10 (352 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
7
7
44
79
119
81
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Florian Falch from Norway with 10 ratings

I did expect a little more after reading the ratings. It is a good rum, the smell is really nice but behind the little sting of alcohol doesn´t come as much as i would liked.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jamiet from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Bought this to try as my usual 12 year Flor de Cana was out of stock.
I'm far from being an expert, but I don't really think it's that good at all, even as a mixer. It tastes like so many other bog standard rums from the local off-licence and isn't very smooth. All the fake tat on the bottle trying to make it look like something that fell off the back of a salvaged schooner is just naff. I can only think that many of the reviews on here are possibly fake.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 20 ratings

This is a quality rum, but it seems that the barrels it was aging in has transformed it from a rum flavour to a whiskey one. Not really for me. The bottle presentation is quite nice.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Justinpie from United States with 13 ratings

Did I get a bad batch? Astonished by all the 10s. To me, the flavor wasn't terribly complex or impactful - a little vanilla, a bit of tropical fruit, little smokiness. It was never offensive, just... barely there. It was very smooth, however. Would be a great rum for people who enjoy whiskeys, but for the price you can get better rums.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by mjlanger (PREMIUM) from Canada with 16 ratings

Well. To be honest. I rated this one on the second of two stuff drinks. And I guess dice I really wanted the second drink it rates and 8. 😀

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 204 ratings

I’ve had this rum many times surprised I never rated it. Great old school presentation bottle and decor. It’s a solid rum but not top notch. Dark sweet nice rocks rum but leaves me wanting more.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 37 ratings

This is not quite as wonderful as the 18 year, but still very nice for the price. Lovely nose. Very pleasant neat.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Kandované ovoce, cedr, včelí plástve, medová sladkost, broušená kůže. (84 b)
Chuť: Oproti vůni je na jazyku vcelku suchý, hřebíček, cedrové dřevo, v dochuti pak i mírná hořčinka. (80 b)
Body: 82/100
Shrnutí: Mám lahev a nejsem z ní kdoví jak nadšený, na mě už dost suchý, osmnáctiletá verze byla výrazně lepší.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Nice especially in a old fashioned but it does remind me of bourbon anyway with lost of wood spiciness but didn’t get much sweetness from it. Wasn’t wowed by it

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by asloper6001 from United States with 9 ratings

Awesome rum for the price. Definitely want some more.

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 5 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 22 ratings

I prepared myself not to like this rum. I was pleasantly surprised when I received it as a gift and enjoyed with a large ice cube. This very quaffable rum has spicy notes up front, but mellows into vanilla and toffee on the back. I really like it. Looking forward to trying the older varieties.