Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.7/10 (327 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
7
41
66
114
79
11

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

The bottle is gorgeous so that is a really nice feature. Popping the cork it smells like that bold rum I like. Not magical smelling, alcohol, oak,vanilla. Pretty usual stuff. Yeah you definitely have to let this one breath for like 20 minutes. If you don't it clashes all together and really isn't that good at all. The smokey taste really stands out like no other rum that I can think of. Very very dry and not very sweet. Vanilla oak taste with not too much complexity, its unique in the fact its not traditionally sweet like most rums now a day. If you like flor de cana rums this is a step up from them. This rum really isn't my style so I cant rate it as good by my standards but for its style it does do a good job. This would be an excellent cigar rum if I smoked.

9bd95cd7fd6531856e4abcdd86ca1edd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 48 ratings

I found this rum in a pub not too far from me and was quite surprised to see it stocked there. The bar lady was even more surprised that i chose it and she didn't even know it was there. I ended up being the first one to order it as she opened the bottle for the first time! I found it to be fairly smooth and very easy to drink but was also very thin and not massively interesting. Definitely worth trying out though if you see it at a bar or pub.

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

nasládlá vůně vanilka, dřevo a ovoce, chuť jemná, nasládlá s vanilkou

47bc0dd0c02607f7ceb7d52ff60142a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

I bought this one to see if it’s greater youth would be less “woody” in its taste. I see no great difference in color except perhaps less deep amber. Like it’s older cousin, vanilla meets, along complex fruit notes. On the tongue, vanilla and coffee and more vanilla and caramel in the back of the mouth. Cask finish may have included sherry casks? After trying several age-stated dark rums, I realize Solera rums are more to my liking, although this is a very nice sipping rum!

Edd72a92566a2e0152f55f492aed3282.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 22 ratings

First the nose gave me a Vanilla and a slight alcohol. I’m also picking up
Creme brûlée’s, just a wonderful aroma. The legs are fantastic with droplets sticking to the sides of my glass and not moving. Swirl it and it’s like oil on the sides as the rum picks paths to streak back down the glass with droplets just stoping and staying in place. My first taste is Vanilla and a Creme Brûlée with a slight alcohol. I’m also picking up a soft tobacco, leather, oak and allspice. Very smooth and an aftertaste of a Smokey vanilla oak. 20 minutes in and there’s still drops sticking on the top of the glass from the initial pour. Put a tiny bit of water in and am now picking up some raisins on the nose with the Vanilla smell still bright. Water gave it more of a fruity flavor and the spices are sticking around. For 30 plus dollars, I don’t think this can be beat for a daily drinker. Will I mix it in coke? Probably not as it stands well on its own as a sipper neat.

Fc7b0e55e752bc456369a426a744024a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Mbanford from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Phenomenal taste and smoothness! Only every received as a gift due to cost though worth every penny in my opinion.

840e1ced56207a51e4da0005767b7604.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by tnoonan2013 from United States with 3 ratings

This rum is exactly what you want. The older ages are a bit over the top with smoke and wood while this one is just young enough that it shows the fruitiness in a nuanced way, some blackberries and darker fruits, light heat and just the best

D94b95f31a992fd0b46ed0ee08de0053.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

This tastes like what a rich Puerto Rican cartel leader would drink while taking a bath in the blood of innocent

3ef01d6656022d5c920fd0b5825fe8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 37 ratings

A very well balanced rum, with no real harshness to it when drinking it neat.

When mixed, it retains a characteristic flavour, when many rums become incredibly similar.

C8146204fae08df8b133a550941f1e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 16 ratings

Beautiful color. Very good body. Smooth with a a little bite in the right place. Doesn’t get a ten, but so much better than a lot of others.

64686b2f3599798a81595d3065be46b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by TheSkog from Canada with 2 ratings

I've got batch 23, and I have to say I am confused by all the good reviews. The nose is light, soft and lacks much in the way of character. Sure it is smooth, but there is very little taste. It is so lite that am thinking this would only be used as an.entry point for beginners, and certainly not for a serious sipper.
Certainly not worth th 80 dollars it cost in canada. Maybe 30 or 40, and dont bother mixing unless you prefer not to change the taste of.your coke. The taste is so thin it would absolutely disappear with mix.
I am told the older versions are a vast improvement.