Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


313 Kirk and Sweeney 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I purchased this for only $33.99 (K&L Wines 2015), so based on the price my expectations weren't that high. But this rum greatly exceeded my expectations!

It tastes like an agricole, albeit an exceptional one, and tastes at least as good as the far more expensive Clement XO (imho). It smells and tastes of sugar cane, caramel, vanilla, cookie dough, oak, honey, and molasses.

One of the best rum values in my opinion, this is a must try!

Edit: I've since tried the 18 and 23year Kirk & Sweeney, which are considerably better!

Posted about 3 years ago by Andy from Denmark with 6 ratings

I guess I need another go on this one. Maybe it was because of the sweet cake I didn't taste anything special - yeah sure it got better by time but that stupid sweet cake.
By now I will rate this one a 6 but I will be back on this one

Posted about 3 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

This is one of the few rims I have come across that taste like an oak barrel. Not necessarily a bad thing since it doesn't taste like bourbon, but in this case it seems to overwhelm the natural sweetness of the rum. Had a very dry oak aftertaste.

Posted about 3 years ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

My first taste of rum was in the Dominican Republic and it instantly became my drink of choice. 15 years later when I tried this rum it was like a coming home to that first drink again. I lean more towards a sweeter, sipping rum but this one is still near the top of my list. Traditional rum drinkers would love it I think.

Posted about 3 years ago by EFS from United States with 5 ratings

I have yet to acquire a discerning palate as to the complexities of flavors in rum. I rated it and 8 but it very well might deserving of a 10. All I can say is that this rum is very smooth. No burn or long lasting after taste. I really enjoyed it. I first tried sipping rum in Nassau. Watlings Buena Vista was so smooth. I should have bought a bottle there, it is not available in the US. I read a lot of reviews of different rums on this forum and got some idea of what I might enjoy. I went to the local store and browsed the rums, most were well known mass produced brands. I came across Kirk and Sweeney 12 yr and I am glad I did.

Posted about 3 years ago by Will V from United States with 2 ratings

New to sipping rums, but a reasonable rum for the $30 at PA state stores. Bottle is nice. Drinking out of a whiskey glass. Nose is somewhat flat but taste is fairly smooth for the age with only mild alcohol burn. Hints of butter toffee and not overly sweet. A touch of raisin and minimal oak? Could use a bit more depth but for the price worth a try. Zafra 21 year got me started and this is not as complex.

Posted about 3 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Rum 188 v zumu kořeněná a na sladla chuť.. výborný 8b

Posted about 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Got this one as a gift from friends - smells of raisins, has a savory oaky taste. I'm not getting as much vanilla as some of the others on here but it's definitely there.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Long from United States with 1 rating

I found this rum to have notes of vanilla , caramel with a hint of oak with a nice smooth finish. At the beginning is is similar to a cordial more than a rum. In a short time this has become my favorite beverage and I am looking forward to trying the 23 year old soon

Posted about 3 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

I really like this rum. Good blend of of vanilla, molasses and oak on the palate. Could be a touch smoother on the finish.

I have only tried it neat and with ice. I paid $38 for my bottle which seems a tad steep, but within reason.

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

The rum is smooth enough to sip however the flavor of it is just different than most rums I've tried and in a negative way for me. There is a bitterness that I'm just not enjoying as much as I would like to. I won't be buying another of these beautiful looking bottles.
Update: I like some sweetness in my rum and this is dominated by bitterness. I keep tasting it but then I make a bitter face and say "blehhh" after every sip. I really wanted to like this one but I just don't. The bottle I got was on sale and I'm almost convinced it was a bad batch or something based on everyone else's reviews here. I will continue to revisit this rum and update accordingly.

Posted over 3 years ago by pat from Switzerland with 7 ratings

Une robe acajou sombre. Un nez doux avec des arômes de canne à sucre, de vanille, de caramel et de fruits secs. De la douceur également en bouche avec un corps ayant du caractère avec des notes de vanille et de bois. Une finale longue et douce.

Posted over 3 years ago by Austin from United States with 17 ratings

Im a mix drinker. I always mix my rums, sailor jerry, bayou, my favorite mixers. Welp. I just decided to poor me an open on the rocks glass and god damn i like it. Havent mixed it into anything. The bottle was sooo cool it cought my eye across the store. So i had to have it. How smooth it is going down it tremendous. I gotta say theres a mellow taste. You really feel the earthly-ness of it followed up by the cask taste. All around great rum. Its sweet off the staty and has a wooden mid taste a slight burn, not bad at all going down. And a genuine rum tatse after words. Very much a fan. Csnt wait to buy the 18 year ince this 12 is finished. Might just buy the 23 ag the same time as the 18.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

Après une bonne année d'essais infructueux à me procurer cette élégante bouteille, je dois avouer que mes attentes étaient bien élevée après avoir mis la main dessus par pur hasard pendant un voyage en Californie. Malheureusement, les attentes ne furent pas tout à fait comblée....

Au nez on sent immédiatement une présence intense de cassonade et de vanille. Le coté boisé vient ensuite compléter ce premier contact avec ce rhum qui déjà, semble vouloir me laisser sur mon appétit.

En bouche, les mêmes arômes viennent, dans le même ordre qu'au nez. Cassonade, vanille, le bois carbonisé et un légère touche d'armertume qui ressemble à du zest d'orange.
Une chaleur au niveau de la gorge fait une arrivée tardive, voir 2-3 secondes après la gorgé, ce qui pour moi est de loin le coté le plus intéressant de ce produit.

Ce qui me déçois de ce rhum est son insipidité, son manque total de personnalité...
Dommage car ce n'est pas un produit mal fait ou surfait. simplement .... sans caractère.

Je donne quand même un 7 pour l'effort et aussi pour le fait qu'un 6 serait malhonnête..!

Posted over 3 years ago by Justin from United States with 15 ratings

At first, I thought this was going to hit me strong, simply judging from the nose. Then I sipped it. Not overpowering, just a good balance of kick with smooth.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

It had a great well rounded taste to it. Did not meet my best rums but beet most others that I have tried.

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Soft with persistent flavors (sugar cane, molasses, vanilla, tobacco). Recommended !

Posted over 3 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

This rum is great if you like a rum that balances some sweetness, depth, smoky and just the right amount of alcohol. The rum is just a tad less refined than the 18 year version, but still a fantastic sipper neat.

Posted over 3 years ago by Anders Skjødt Hansen from Denmark with 65 ratings

Har glædet mig meget til at smage denne rom. Flasken er super flot og indbydende.
Duften er dejlig sød med vanilje og et strejf af banan og tørret frugt man fornemmer tydeligt noget fad.
Smagen er som forventet sødlig og røget smag den ender ret tørt med en lækker eftersmag af fad.

Posted over 3 years ago by T Mo from United States with 1 rating

Smooth sipper neat. Easy on the palate for a young age, with a tone of Vanilla and medium finish. Like it.

Posted over 3 years ago by IceBear from Germany with 22 ratings

I gave this one several tries before giving my score of 7/10. It just lacks in flavor and overall smoothness. It has a good taste but comes on very strong and a bit bitter. I guess it's a recommendation when you're not into all the sweet rums and prefer something stronger. For me it's just overrated, maybe an earlier year used to be better?

Posted over 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

A pleasant drop of Rum. Spicy and high alcohol flavours to start, with with a nice honey after-taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry!
i smell vanilla and toffee notes. spicy elements at the same height.maybe some tobacco notes and some fruit.
i taste toffee, prune and honey. bold wood. almond in the back. a little bit raw with some sharp edges.
7/10 - drop 5 points if your best rum is the diplomatico or plantation xo barbados!
a nice heavy rum without sugar. good starter, the 18y old is much better!

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

This is a warn rum that just hits the right balance between smoothness and flavour great if you just have some nice quiet time to sit and drink

Posted over 3 years ago by DLK601 from United States with 11 ratings

Second favorite run so far, the 23 year being my favorite. I would rate it 9.5 overall but with the price factored in I felt rounding up would be the best choice.

Price is weighed lightly in my rating. I paid $28 for a 750ml bottle, absolute steal for the price.




#